The Star-Herald

Presque Isle High School spring athletes garner awards

PRESQUE ISLE, Maine — The Presque Isle High School spring athletic awards night was held June 4, with members of the JV and varsity softball teams, JV and varsity baseball teams, varsity tennis teams and varsity track and field teams recognized for their participation during the recently completed sports season.

The outstanding senior athlete awards were presented at a June 7 Class Day event. Members of the senior class, as well as coaches and administrators, collaborate to select the award. This year’s recipients are Emily Wheaton and Max Bartley. Wheaton played soccer and basketball, while Bartley competed in cross country, Nordic skiing and track and field.

At the awards night, JV softball coach Tim McCue presented certificates to freshmen Macie Bartley, Hattie Bubar, Maddie Buzza, Meg Casavant, Juliana Hundley, Brooke Schneider and managers Jayden McPherson and Valerie St. Peter; sophomores Alexis Michaud, Elizabeth Nadeau and Emma Postell; and juniors Peyton Day-Siders, Jessica Vaillincourt and managers Meghan Dubie and Kiarra Lahey.

JV baseball coach Ben Buckley presented certificates to freshmen Ben Graham and Connor Rideout, sophomores Colby Buckley, Ethan Cassidy, Mitchell Dumais, Ricky Goupille, Gabe Herweh, Blake Inman and Nathan Willett; and junior Ian Michaud.

Girls varsity tennis coach Monica Bearden handed out a first-year letter to freshman Jenna Ouellette, second-year letters to sophomores Hana Boucher and Gabrielle Haley, a third-year letter to junior Anna Robinson; and a fourth-year letter to senior Miranda Bragan.

Boys varsity tennis coach Brian Massey gave a first-year letter to freshman Elijah Russell, second-year letters to seniors Austin Moreau and Gage Young; and third-year letters to juniors Andre Daigle and Gage Young and seniors Jordan Bonville and Isaac Madore.

Varsity softball coach Terry Cummings and his assistant, Peter Coffin, presented certificates to freshmen Riley Davis, Rachel Milliard and manager Sydney Robichaud; first-year letters to freshman Rhylee Kinney, sophomore Alaina Legassie and junior manager Sierra Blade; second-year letters to sophomores Rebecca Rider and Anna Trombley, junior Emma Bouchard and senior manager Megan Butler; third-year letters to juniors Allison Madore, Lydia Miller, Savannah Rodriguez and Sydney Thompson and senior Kayla Saucier; and a fourth-year letter to senior manager Kiara Lyford.

Girls varsity track and field coach Randall Himes and his assistants, Joe Greaves and Carson Dobrin, presented certificates to freshmen Delaney Alward, Janelle Doak, Jeanna Knight, Jasmine LeClair, Jenna Sargent, Kylie Scott, Sabrina Sperrey and Amanda Winslow; and sophomores Stephanie Donovan, Taylor Fancy, Allison Himes and managers Madeline Berry and Meagan Grant. First-year letters went to freshman Ellie Smith, sophomores Maggie Castonguay and Elise Nelson, junior Grace Bemis and senior Elizabeth Deschenes; second-year letters to sophomores Clara Kohlbacher and Libby Moreau and juniors Alexandra Walsh and manager Marina Aubin; third-year letters to juniors Kamryn Gilmour, Madison Jandreau and Eleanor St. Peter and fourth-year letters to seniors Isabelle Jackson and Madelyn Wing.

Hims, Greaves and Dobrin also presented boys varsity track and field awards. Certificate recipients were freshmen LeRoy Gardiner, Gage LeTourneau, Noah Roy and Hunter Stubbs; sophomores Connor Albertson, Jacob Bonville, Carter Jackson, Connor Junkins, Michael Perkins and Damon Underwood; and juniors Chase Quirion, Seth Roy, Jordan Scott and Lautaro Visuara. Earning first-year letters were freshmen Colby Carlisle, Jacob Devine, Connor Michaud, Ben Ryan and Ethan Wydysh; sophomore Brad Tilley; and junior William Bridges. Second-year letters went to junior Jason Dumais and senior Jonah Clark; third-year letters to juniors Drew Cameron, Kyler Caron and Trace Cyr and senior Max Bartley.

Varsity baseball coach Derrick Kinney and assistant coach Curt Paterson gave out certificates to sophomore managers Meghan Collins and Kristen Dube and junior manager Ty Schneider; first-year letters to freshman Chance Bragan, sophomores Sam Beaulieu, Zach Fletcher and Riley Roderick; and junior Andrew Hewitt; second-year letters to sophomore Connor DeMerchant and juniors Torey Levesque, Dakota Morrow, Cole Paterson and manager Elizabeth Collins; and third-year letters to junior Jonah Hudson and seniors R.J. Gross and Adam Paterson.

Adam Paterson was selected as the winner of the Aaron Archer Award in baseball.

Cawley and Colligan won 12-letter awards for lettering all four years in three sports seasons. Cawley lettered in fall cheering, winter cheering and tennis, while Colligan lettered in cross country running, Nordic skiing and track and field for three years and tennis for one.

Sweatshirt recipients, who accumulated six varsity letters in any combination of sports, were Torey Levesque (in soccer, hockey and basketball) and Clara Kohlbacher (soccer, cheering and track and field).

Earning a jacket for lettering in one sport for four years was Miranda Bragan (tennis). Other fourth-year letter winners who received their jackets for participation in a previous sport were Isabelle Jackson (track and field), Kiara Lyford (softball manager) and Madelyn Wing (track and field).

Jackson also received a 12-year letter award for lettering in all sports for a career.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.