The Star-Herald

Two Aroostook County students are recipients of the Chet Jordan Leadership Award

PORTLAND & ELLSWORTH, Maine Chet Jordan Leadership Awards are given annually to students who are emerging leaders in their community and school despite hardship, adversity or disability. This year’s recipients are Kenzey Tracy from Veazie, attending Wake Forest University; Breann Clayton, Easton, Husson University; Mariah Ellis, Mapleton, University of Maine at Farmington; Ibrahim Shkara, Westbrook, University of Maine; and Dakota Webster, Scarborough, University of New England.

Eligible applicants for the leadership awards are graduating seniors at the following: all high schools in Aroostook County, plus Augusta, Bangor, Brewer, Cape Elizabeth, Cheverus, Cony, Cumberland, Deering, Greely, Falmouth, Gorham, John Bapst, Katahdin, Portland, Scarborough, South Portland, and Yarmouth high schools. Academic excellence is not a prerequisite, but demonstrated compassion, dependability and hard work are.

The scholarship was established in 1995 in memory of Chet Jordan, a Portland-based businessman who spent time in Aroostook County and had a deep sense of civic responsibility for his community and home state of Maine. Jordan’s family and friends established this fund to honor the rich legacy of his leadership in business and civic affairs in Maine.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.