The Star-Herald

Houlton captures Aroostook middle school cheering crown

MARS HILL, Maine — Houlton’s Middle School cheering squad was crowned 2019 Aroostook League champions Thursday evening following two strong performances at Central Aroostook High School.

Houlton bested squads from Presque Isle, Caribou and host-Central Aroostook for the league trophy. Houlton also collected trophies for best team motions, best team dance and best team jumps.

Presque Isle finished as runners up and won best team tumbling and best team stunts.

Caribou won the spirit award. Each team performed its routine twice during the competition with the scores then averaged to determine a winner.

During the intermission, individual cheerleaders performed jumps and stunts. Olivia Drake of Houlton placed first for sixth- and seventh-graders in the jumps, while Amelia Donovan of Presque Isle came in second.

Jumps for eighth-graders saw Kenzie Hodgdkins of Houlton finish first, while Anna Killcollins of Central Aroostook was second.

For tumbling, Lindsey Himes of Presque Isle was first, while Drake was second.

In the stunts category, Central Aroostook took home top honors.

Member of the Shires squad, who are coached by Maggie Russell, are Hillary Peabody, Hailey Quint, Madalyn Quirk, Kenzie Hodgkins, Mariah Peterson, Maggie Crowley, Kiara Smith, Olivia Hallett, Riley Sylvain, Cadence Kinney, Kayleigh McNinch, Olivia Cyr, Emma McCarthy, Cindy Hannigan, Olivia Drake and Sophia Lorom.

Members of Caribou Middle School team, coached by Hannah McDonald, are Kallee Parent, Alexis Whitmore, Emma Ellis, Aiden Kelley, Khora Marker, Lillian Haskell, Taylor Gilliam, Emmaleine Churchill, Landyn Hyde, Maddie Bacon, Haley Dumond, Allie White, Isabella Cherrier, Mea Ouellette, Adrianna Ybarrondo and Tiffany Bruce.

Members of the Presque Isle squad, coached by Lisa Marie Dow and Rachel Dow, are Adelaide Baser, Ellie Clark, Emma Deeves, Taylor Doyen, Liberty Herweh, Jaylee Howlett, Isabella Keegan, Lita Perkins, Emma York, Meghan Boardman, Keira Cyr, Amelia Donovan, Sierra Farley, Lindsey Himes, Emma Jordan, Nyah Langley and Madelyn Sylvia.

Members of the Central Aroostook squad, coached by Brittni Morrison, are Anna Killcollins, Delaney McKeen, Abby Morrison, Julia Pierce, Gracie Bailey, Riley Prince, Molly Grant and Rebecca Nelson.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.