The Star-Herald

Bill to authorize coins honoring George H.W. Bush and Barbara Bush introduced by Senators Collins, King

WASHINGTON, D.C. — In a bipartisan gesture of heartfelt gratitude toward both George H.W. Bush and Barbara Bush, U.S. Senators Susan Collins and Angus King joined a group of their colleagues in introducing legislation to authorize the U.S. Department of the Treasury to mint $1 coins honoring the former president and first lady.  President and Mrs. Bush, who had strong ties to the State of Maine, both passed away in 2018.

“President and Mrs. Bush loved the State of Maine and its people, and we are so proud to have had them as our neighbors and our friends.  I treasured their friendship and will deeply miss visiting with them each summer at their family home at Walker’s Point,” said Senator Collins.  “Courage, duty, honor, and compassion defined their lives and their public service to our nation. This coin would help pay tribute to their wonderful legacy and serve as a reminder of their lasting contributions to Maine and our country.”

“President George H.W. Bush and First Lady Barbara Bush spent their lives dedicated to our country and to their family — and we were fortunate to see that dedication firsthand in Maine, “ said Senator King. “The President’s decades of public service led him from the U.S. Navy to Congress to the CIA to the highest office in the land. The First Lady’s passion for the wellbeing of children helped thousands of children in Maine, and thousands more around the country. Their love and partnership is truly an example we should all hope to follow, and this legislation serves as a fitting tribute to their legacy.”

The President George H.W. Bush and Barbara Bush Dollar Coin Act authorizes Treasury to mint $1 coins honoring the former president and first lady for the year 2019. Since these coins would be part of a coin series, they would not count against the current quota limiting commemorative coins to two per year.  The coins would have no net cost to the U.S. government.

In addition to Senators Collins and King, the legislation was introduced by Senators John Cornyn (R-TX), Ted Cruz (R-TX), and Rob Portman (R-OH).

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.