Presque Isle

17 years ago

   PRESQUE ISLE, Maine – Michaele C. Black, 19, of Presque Isle, a senior in the liberal studies program at Northern Maine Community College, has been named to the All-Maine Academic Team.

Dennis King, chair of the Maine Community College System (MCCS) board of trustees, praised the accomplishments of Black and the other 10 community college students who were named to the team at a recent ceremony in Augusta.

    The All-Maine Academic program recognizes the scholarly achievements and leadership qualities of two-year college students, and is sponsored in part by Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges.
“These 11 students are being recognized for their high academic achievement and their contributions to their communities. Individually, and collectively, they are making their college, their community and our state a better place,” said King, addressing the crowd, which included students’ family members, college faculty and staff, and several legislators.
At the ceremony, each of the students received a $500 scholarship from KeyBank. King and MCCS President John Fitzsimmons both gave remarks recognizing the students’ achievements.
“It was an honor to be nominated for this scholarship and recognition,” said Black. “Every little bit helps when it comes to financing one’s education. The sheer fact that the NMCC community deemed me eligible to represent the school made me blush – I was so thankful.”
In addition to her strong academic record, which includes being named to the NMCC dean’s list every semester, Black is very involved both on campus and in the community.
She is the current president of the NMCC Student Senate, a resident assistant, and chair of the NMCC campus organizations committee.
She is a member of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges designed to recognize academic excellence, leadership, and community service, and performs with the Northern Maine Chamber Orchestra.
Other students from around Maine honored this year include: Mark Castonguay of Livermore Falls, E. Jeanette Hatch of Medford, Katherine J. Cummings of Brewer, Tina Willett of Clinton, Michael C. Schell Jr. of Saco, Heather A. Huntley of South Portland, Lori Barbee of Cherryfield, Maria Evans of Robbinston, Nicholas Johnson of Sanford, and Troy Williams of York Beach.
The All-Maine Academic Team is part of the national Phi Theta Kappa program designed to recognize academic excellence, leadership, and community service.
Each of the Maine team members has also been selected by their colleges to compete for a spot on the All-USA Academic Team, which is sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, the American Association of Community Colleges and USA Today.
The All-Maine Academic Team program is co-sponsored by KeyBank, Bangor Daily News, Creative Awards of Scarborough, and the Maine Community College System.