Young Authors’ Institute

15 years ago

    WASHBURN – Washburn District Elementary School would like to congratulate the 2008 Young Author winners for grades 4-8. The Young Authors’ Institute held on March 28 at the University of Maine at Presque Isle is an opportunity for students to have their writing skills enhanced by attending various writing and illustrating  workshops.

This year’s featured author is Lea Wait, a Maine author who writes novels set in the 19th century for ages 7 and up. Aroostook Right to Read is the sponsor of this wonderful event honoring and celebrating the young writers in the county.



Photo courtesy of Ricky BraggImage
    Students from Washburn Elementary taking part in the Young Authors program included, front row, from left: Brittany Hernandez, Taylor Howe, Taylor Skinner, Jennica Harris and Andrew White. Back row: Taylor Arruda, Nick Silver, Kelsey Churchill and Taylor Schumacher. Absent from photo was Kolby Koch.