Presque Isle High School athletes gain recognition

14 years ago

Presque Isle High School athletes

gain recognition

By Joseph Cyr
Staff Writer

PRESQUE ISLE — Athletes from Presque Isle High School were honored Nov. 8, during the school’s Fall Sports Awards Ceremony. SAD 1 Athletic Director Dave Heald served as master of ceremonies for the event, which recognized all of the Wildcat athletes who participated in fall sports.
A DVD presentation opened the evening’s events, showcasing photographs from the fall sports season, followed by welcoming remarks from Heald.
“Our fall season was very successful,” Heald said. “We have been very fortunate in that most of our athletic teams are able to go deep into the playoffs in each of our sports seasons.”
The following is a recap of the awards presented.
Junior varsity girls soccer — Coach Joe Greaves presented certificates to: freshmen Danielle Allen, Carly Bell, Shea Brown, Logan Caron, Kaleigh Kinney, Jackie Lambert, Molly O’Connell, Hanna Postell and Shannon Sweeney; sophomores Hannah Bonville, Liza Buck, Rachel Dow, Kayla Girardin, Alex Lambert, Brooke Lovely, Lali Warner and manager Jenna Soucy; and junior Katie Patenaude.
Junior varsity boys soccer — Coach Nate Hasty presented certificates to: freshmen Ryon Basu, Isaac Estey, Josh Gordon, Liam Hughes, Aaron Kofstad, Cody Lyford, Ansumana Morrow, Frank Nunez, Tyler Seeley, Conor Seward, Ryder Soucy, Karson Wilcox and manager Hannah Guerrette; sophomores Corey Belanger, Dakota Fox, Thomas Freeman, Brandon LeBlanc and Josh Morrow; and juniors Corey Meunier, Dylan Michaud, Travis Powers and Ben Sipe.
Fall cheering — Coach Jolene Kinney presented certificates to: freshman Elena Ford and sophomore Desiree Ouellette. Receiving first-year letters were freshmen Katelyn Michaud, Kelsie Spooner and Hannah Stoutamyer; sophomores Amanda Bagley, Kelsey Corriveau and Kenedy Jarvis; and juniors Kelsey Buck and Paige Doyen. Receiving second-year letters were: sophomores Megan Byers; Justena Cleveland, Mary Green, Gabby McCrum and Allissa McDougal; junior Brittany Good; and seniors Julea Gorneault and manager Stephanie Therrien. Receiving third-year letters were: juniors Courtney Lyford, Michaela Powers and Bonnie Zeng.
Varsity golf — Coach James York and assistant coach Marie Waddell presented certificates to freshmen Karson Eaton, Carter LaPointe and Taylor Willey; and juniors Nick Barclay, Nate Sperrey and Matt Sullivan. Receiving first-year letters were sophomore Gabe Player, junior Cody Merrill and senior Oliver Zubrick; receiving second-year letters were sophomore Adam Flynn, junior Matt Freeman and senior Alex Tuttle; and receiving third-year letters were junior Evan Waddell and seniors Travis Dyer and Jordan Hallett. The golf team was also recognized for winning the Penobscot Valley Conference Class B championship and placing fifth at the state Class B event. PVC All-Conference selections were Dyer and Waddell. Aroostook League All Stars were Dyer, Flynn, Tuttle and Waddell.
Varsity boys cross country — Coach Lori Googins presented certificates to freshmen Dustin Drabek and Josh Jones; sophomore Kolby Knight; and juniors Mitchell Bennett and Dylan Elliott. First-year letters were presented to freshmen Michael Donovan, Trevor Levesque, Saul Nunez and Matt Tilley and senior Michael McPherson. A second-year letter as presented to senior Tyler Michaud. Third-year letters were presented to junior Matt Eager and senior Logan Thibeau. Special recognition was also given to Eager and Thibeau for being Aroostook League All-Stars. Eager was also selected to the PVC All-Conference first team for his 11th place finish at the Eastern Class B championship. As a team, the Wildcats qualified for states.
Varsity girls cross country — Coach Googins presented first-year letters to freshmen Shelby Condon and Bonnie Corey and sophomore Amanda Bennett; sophomore Samantha Simonds received a second-year letter; senior Emily Wright received a third-year letter; and seniors Jaylee Fox and Alecia Palmer received fourth-year letters. Palmer was also recognized for qualifying for the New England competition; placing second at the Eastern Class B championships and being selected to PVC All-Conference first team. The Wildcats were also recognized for placing seventh at states.
Varsity girls soccer — Coach Ralph Michaud presented certificates to freshman Shea Brown and sophomore Liza Buck; first-year letters to sophomores Emma Bartlett, Haley Bouchard, Abbie Carrier, Katelyn McPherson, Kailey Shaw and Meredith Stewart, junior Hillary Albert and senior Lindsay Michaud; second-year letters to sophomores Karlee Bernier, Chandler Guerrette and Megan Ireland, junior manager Stacia Caron and seniors Shae Adler and Chelsey Lynds; third-year letters to juniors Elsie Jones, Chelsea Nickerson and Kayla Richards and senior MacKenzie Pinette. Recognized for making the Aroostook League All-Stars were Guerrette, Nickerson and Richards. Nickerson and Richards were also named to the PVC All Conference first team and the Eastern Maine All-Star team, while Guerrette and Ireland were second-team PVC. The Wildcats were also recognized for finishing as Eastern Class B runners-up.
Varsity boys soccer — Coach Scott Young and assistant coach Tim McCue presented certificates to freshman Cody Lyford, manager Laurin Ackerson and manager Dani Wolland. Receiving first-year letters were sophomores Michael Guerrette, Jonah Stephenson and Jacob Williams, juniors Jamison Getman, Logan Good and Andrew Kofstad and seniors Ben McKenna and manager Tyler Eager; receiving second-year letters were juniors Sam Clukey, Ryley Norton, Jacob Player and Cole Richards and seniors Caleb Mathers and Andrew Wilcox; receiving third-year letters were juniors Isaac LaJoie and Wilder York and seniors Josh Allen, Brandon Bonville and Andrew Legassie; receiving a fourth-year letter was manager Mike Picard. Named to the PVC All-Conference team were Allen and LaJoie, first-team; and Bonville, Legassie and York, second-team. Allen was honored as PVC Co-Player of the Year and the recipient of the Butch Shaw Award. Named Aroostook League All-Stars were Allen, Bonville, Legassie, LaJoie, York. Allen, Bonville, Legassie and York were also honored as Eastern Class B all-stars.
Special awards were also presented. Receiving sweatshirts were Nickerson (soccer, basketball and softball) and Pinette (soccer, track and field), while Fox, Palmer and Picard received jackets.