Cougars are volleyball champs

13 years ago

    The Aroostook League held its annual high school volleyball tournaments last week at four locations, and the Presque Isle girls and boys, the Washburn girls and the Katahdin boys captured titles.
    The Division I girls’ event took place at Presque Isle High School last Wednesday, with the Wildcats defeated Caribou in the championship, 19-25, 25-21 and 25-9. PI and Caribou met in the finals after both went 6-2 during the round-robin portion on the tourney. Madawaska (5-3 in the round-robin), Fort Kent (2-6) and Houlton (1-7) were the other teams competing.
Contributed photograph
sp-cougarvolley-dcx-pt-12WINNERS — The “Super Six” of Katahdin High School were the Division II volleyball champions. Playing for the team were, from left, Brandon Robinson, Mickey Savage, Brady McNally, Kolby Gallagher, Mark McGraw and Coach Phil Faulkner. Absent from the photograph was Chris Cloukey.

    In the Division I boys’ tourney, held last Wednesday at Caribou, it was Presque Isle taking down Madawaska in the finals, 25-22, 25-22. Both the Wildcats and Owls had 7-2 records in the round robin, with Caribou going 4-5 and Houlton 0-9.
    Washburn was the host of Friday’s Division II girls’ tournament and the Beavers won the championship by scores of 25-7 and 25-19 over runner-up Fort Fairfield. Washburn went 7-1 in the round-robin and Fort went 6-2 as both advanced to the semifinals along with Katahdin (6-2) and Wisdom (5-3).
    Washburn bested Wisdom in one semifinal, 25-9, 25-15; while Fort Fairfield topped Katahdin in the other, 25-18, 25-19.
    Other teams taking part, along with their round-robin records, were Van Buren (5-3), Ashland (4-4), Easton (4-4), Central Aroostook (2-6), Greater Houlton Christian Academy (0-8) and Limestone-MSSM (0-8).
    Headlining the all-star team was Washburn’s Rebecca Campbell, who was named MVP. She was joined by Haley Frank of Limestone-MSSM, Whitney Donovan of Ashland, Parise Rossignol of Van Buren, Megan Merry of Katahdin, Claudia Bourgoin of Wisdom, Arianna Babineau of Easton, Kristen Long of Central Aroostook, Kellyn McGillan of Fort Fairfield and Halle Duff of GHCA.
    The Division II boys’ tourney took place Saturday at Fort Fairfield, with Katahdin downing Van Buren in the championship match, 25-19, 25-18. The Cougars went 7-1 to come out of Pool A as the top seed, while Van Buren ended up 6-2, while also competing in Pool A.
    Also making the semifinals were Easton, 8-0 in Pool B, and Washburn, 6-2 in Pool B.
    Katahdin made it to the finals by beating Washburn, 26-24, 25-23. Van Buren defeated Easton, 25-19, 25-18.
    Also participating were GHCA (4-4), Wisdom (4-4), Fort Fairfield (3-5), Ashland (3-5), Central Aroostook (0-8) and Limestone-MSSM (0-8).
    Brandon Robinson of Katahdin captured MVP and other all-stars were Jordan Beaulier of Ashland, Isaiha Adoptante of Central Aroostook, Reid Clark of Easton, Derek Dufour of Fort Fairfield, Ethan Holmes of GHCA, Mark McGraw of Katahdin, Reid Brechner of Limestone-MSSM, A.J. Edgecomb of Van Buren, Jordan McLaughlin of Washburn and Brandon Lavoie of Wisdom.