Any-deer permit lottery winners announced

12 years ago

Any-deer permit lottery winners announced

    AUGUSTA — The Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife has released the names of the 2012 any-deer permit lottery winners on the department’s website.

    A total of 34,160 any-deer permits have been issued across 13 wildlife management districts (WMDs 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, and 29).

    A complete list of permit winners, including a breakdown of winners by WMD, is available at

    In any of the remaining WMDs where permits were not issued, the hunting season is bucks-only.

    The permit allocation is: 27,922 regular, 5,796 for landowners and 442 for Superpack holders. MDIFW increased the number of any-deer permits issued by 7,770 permits from 2011 levels.

    Deer hunting season (firearms) begins with youth deer hunting day on Oct. 20. Maine residents-only day is Oct. 27 and deer season runs Oct. 29 through Nov. 24.