Local players make elite team

11 years ago
Contributed photo/jMavor Photography
    Matt Milliard of the Caribou Vikings, left, tries to outrace Presque Isle’s Ansu Morrow to the ball during a regular season match. Milliard was named to the Maine Soccer Coaches’ Eastern Maine B all-star team and is invited to play in Sunday’s Senior Bowl at Hampden Academy.

    The Maine Soccer Coaches recently selected their regional all-star teams for 2013.
    Seniors selected are invited to compete in the annual Senior Bowl, to be played Sunday at Hampden Academy. The boys’ game begins at noon, with the girls’ game following at 2:30 p.m.

    Making the Eastern Maine Class B girls’ all-star team were Hannah Graham and Krystal Kingsbury, both of Presque Isle; and Sammy Camy, Sarah Doak, Bria Judd and Delaney Williams, all of Caribou.
    Other players selected were Emma Gutheinz of Camden Hills, Emily Berry, Katey Curtis and Kaiti Kinney, all of Ellsworth; Avery Bond of Erskine Academy, Maddie Page, Claire Petersen, Mollie Roy and Kaitlin Saulter, all of Hermon; Opal Curless and Hannah Shaw, both of Mount Desert Island, and Pilar Elias of Waterville.
    Chosen for the Class D team from Aroostook County were Marissa Chasse of Ashland, Marissa Anthony, Molly Anthony and Karli Levesque, all of Central Aroostook; Kylee Carter of Easton, Logan Bubar, Nicole Giberson and Abbey Player, all of Fort Fairfield; Courtney Parent and Parise Rossignol, both of Van Buren; and Carmen Bragg, Catelyn Coulombe, Carsyn Koch and Mackenzie Worcester, all of Washburn.
    Others selected were Amy Hallett and Morgan Moon, both of Penobscot Valley High School.
    For the boys, Cody Lyford, Ben Nickerson and Tyler Seeley all represented Presque Isle on the Class B squad, with Caribou’s Matt Milliard also making the elite team.
    They are joined by Alex Blackwell, Zach Pitcairn, Marshall Spear and Peter Vannorsdall, all of Camden Hills; Steven Mahon and Jeff Weeks, both of Ellsworth; John Ferguson of Oceanside, Danilo Guthro and Kaleb Kane, both of Waterville; and Alex Berard and Taylor Roy, both of Winslow.
    Easton’s Cody Halvorson and Hunter Turner were the only local players earning berths on the Class D boys’ squad.
    The other honorees were Jay Bishop, Ben Miller and Zac Palmeter, all of Bangor Christian; Patrick Duddy of Deer Isle-Stonington, Cole Beal and Leon Smith, both of Jonesport-Beals; Riley Gray of Machias, Joseph Higgins of Penobscot Valley, John Cushing of Shead and Damon Lincoln of Woodland.

Contributed photo/Dave Allen Graphics
    Viking senior Delaney Williams gets ready to attempt a penalty kick during her team’s game against Presque Isle earlier this season. Williams was selected to the Maine Soccer Coaches’ Eastern Maine B all-star team.
Contributed photo/jMavor Photography
    Logan Bubar of Fort Fairfield, shown during a recent playoff game, made the EM D girls’ all-star team.