Snow Run results

10 years ago

   HOULTON, Maine — The 30th annual Wild Katahdin Trust Snow Run was held between the calm of two storms, making conditions slippery and slow in Houlton on Feb. 15.
Thirty six runners and 10 walkers participated in the race. Ty Thurlow of Littleton was the overall winner with a time of 18:18 and Kimberley Wright of Mapleton was the women’s first-place finisher with a time of 22:05. She was also seventh overall.

The fastest walker was Jana Shaw. There were no male walker participants.
The “mean runner” award, which is given to the runner who falls directly in the middle of the pack, went to 11-year-old Teagan Ewings of Littleton.
Others in the overall top 10 in addition to Thurlow and Wright were: second place, Chris Rines, 18:20; third, Shawn Berry, 18:53; fourth, Leo Kashian, 20:39; fifth, Peter Bates, 20:49; sixth, Douglas Bailey, 21:48; eighth, Larry Hodge, 22:54; ninth, Rob Langner, 22:58; and 10th, Angela Ewings, 23:18.
A total of $781 was raised for the Maine National Guard Family Readiness Group. Several door prizes were awarded, and the traditional chicken stew and other post-fueling refreshments were available after the race.
Larry Tonzi and his wife, Barb, were recognized for their 20-plus years of directing the race. This marked the first of seven races of the Aroostook Musterd’s Running Club County Challenge Series.