McDonald’s games include local stars

10 years ago

McDonald’s games include local stars

    BANGOR — Officials with the Maine Association of Basketball Coaches (MABC) announced the A/B East and West and C/D West player selections for the 2014 Maine McDonald’s High School Senior All-Star basketball games, to be played Saturday at Newman Gymnasium on the Husson University campus.

Staff photo/Joseph Cyr

    COACHING in Saturday’s McDonald’s High School Senior All-Star basketball games is Dillon Kingsbury of the Easton Bears.


    Players representing more than 70 high schools from across the state have been honored with selection to the all-star teams. The teams were selected based upon ballot returns in a statewide high school basketball coaches’ vote conducted by the MABC in January.
    The game-day program will feature head-to-head competition between top players in the state in East vs. West basketball action.
    Tip-off times for each of the contests are as follows: 8:30-9 a.m., state foul shooting championship; 9:15-10:30 a.m., girls’ A/B game; 10:30-10:45 a.m., three-point shooting competition; 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m., girls’ C/D game; 12:15-12:30 p.m., MABC presentations; 12:45-2 p.m., boys’ C/D game; 2-2:15 p.m., slam dunk competition; and 2:30-3:45 p.m., boys’ A/B game.
    Playing for the C/D East girls’ team are: Carmen Bragg and Carsyn Koch, Washburn; Paige Gillespie, Calais; Abbie Melvin, Dexter; Parise Rossignol, Van Buren; Elea Kass and Katie Smith, Orono; Morgan Thompson, Schenck; Sable Altvater, Southern Aroostook; and Raychel Alley, Stearns.
    Bragg will also represent the northern region in the girls’ foul shooting competition.
    Coaching the C/D East girls are Jody Grant of Dexter and Darrick Thompson of Schenck.
    Representing the C/D East boys’ team are: Hunter Turner of Easton, along with Cordell Hold, Calais; Trevor Fogarty, Dexter; Nick Guiod, Houlton; Cole Beal, Jonesport-Beals; Cherif Fall, Lee Academy; Jake Rioux, Van Buren; Trevor Lyford, Penquis; Mark Clossey, Shead; and Seth Brown, Stearns.
    Coaching the C/D boys are Dillon Kingsbury of Easton and Rob Moran, Houlton.
    The A/B girls’ team consists of Cory Norcross, Edward Little; Emily Quirion, Cony; Ally Day, Gardiner; Kelsey Mayo, Messalonskee; Caitlin LaFountain, Mt. Ararat; Miranda Nicely, Mt. Blue; Hannah Shaw, Mount Desert Island; Morgan Buker, Skowhegan; and Anna MacKenzie and Taylor Shaw, Nokomis.
    Jeff Hudson of Presque Isle will coach the team along with Craig Jipson of Edward Little.
    The A/B boys’ team roster includes Xavier Lewis, Bangor; Colin Morse, Camden Hills; Isaiah Bess and Zachary Gilpin, Hampden Academy; Tyler Thayer, Hermon; Jordan Holmes, Messalonskee; Jon Phelps, Mount Desert Island; Andrew Cartwright, Nokomis; Isaiah Stone-Patterson, Oceanside; and Trevor Lovely, Winslow.
    Chris Casavant of Caribou will co-coach the team along with Scott Graffam of Oxford Hills.
    All-star players and coaches, members of the all-state academic teams, regional foul shooting champions, Maine McDonald’s Spirit of the Game Award recipients, the MABC Contributor Award honoree, Team of the Year recipients and Mr. and Miss Basketball finalists will be honored at an awards banquet on Friday, beginning at 6:30 p.m. the Cross Insurance Center in Bangor.
    The Mr. Basketball finalists are Hampden’s Bess and Gilpin and Dustin Cole of Bonny Eagle. Parise Rossignol of Van Buren is a Miss Basketball finalist along with Tiana-Jo Carter of Lake Region and Allie Clement of McAuley.
     Game day tickets may be purchased at the door on Saturday and are good for all four games.
    Tickets are $8 for adults and $5 for students and children. More information about the Maine McDonald’s High School Senior All-Star basketball games is available at