Clark and Jose are champs in annual Cary Classic tourney

    CARIBOU, Maine — The 31st annual Cary Classic Benefit Golf Tournament drew some outstanding golf talent to the Caribou Country Club for the two-day medal play tournament.
Drenched in sunshine for the entire weekend, some 70 golfers competed for more than $8,000 in prizes.  Steve Clark of Caribou and a past winner of the Cary Classic, was the tournament champion with a 36-hole gross score of 153. Ralph Michaud of Presque Isle finished second with a gross score of 158 and Steve Gagnon of Caribou was third with a 159.
For the fourth year in a row, and the fifth time overall, Emily Jose of the Caribou Country Club took the top spot for the ladies play with a gross score of 174, followed by Lupita Albert of Fort Kent in second with a 178 and Jane Hochholzer of Florida in third with a 184.
The tournament serves as one of the largest annual fundraising events for the Jefferson Cary Foundation, with proceeds this year going toward the new Women’s Imaging Center at Cary Medical Center.
The winner of the longest drive competition for men on Saturday was Clark and for the women it was Albert. On Sunday, longest drive winners were Travis Beaulieu and Albert.
The winner for closest to the pin for men on Saturday was Rick Theriault and for the women it was Vi Kemp. On Sunday, closest to the pin winners were Kris Treu and Bern Michaud.
The winner of two tickets to the Deutsche Bank Championship Golf Tournament in Boston was Tyler St. Pierre of Presque Isle.
The top three in each of the divisions of play were as follows:
Men’s Div. I gross: first, Clark, 153; second, Michaud, 158; and third, Gagnon, 159. Net: first, Sam Townsend, 144; second, Brent Hatchard, 146; and third, Beaulieu, 148.
Men’s Div. II gross: first, Bruce Fitzpatrick, 171; second, Treu, 179; and third, Harold Tardy, 181. Net: first, Mike Gagnon, 151; second, Mark Desmond, 152; and third, Greg Dickinson, 155.
Men’s Div. III gross: first, Dale Plourde, 174; second, Norm Collins, 176; and third, Donovan Savage, 179. Net: first, Rick Hallowell, 180; second, Hobart Kemp, 181; and third, Bob Anderson, 183.
Men’s Div. IV gross: first, Shawn Savage, 181; second, Mike Beaulieu, 186; and third, David LaFlamme, 195. Net: first, Tyler Dombroski, 145; second, Rick Theriault, 148; and third, Bill Hochholzer, 149
Ladies Div. I gross: first, Emily Jose, 174; second, Albert, 178; and third, Hochholzer, 184. Net: first, Michaud, 142; second, Kemp, 150; and third, Judy Dombroski, 154.
Ladies Div. II gross: first, Jesse Thompson, 193; second, Kris Doody, 211; and third, Stephanie Flagg, 278.
Ladies Div. II net: first, Janice Beaulieu, 154; and second, Reanna Plourde, 162.