Conference honors awarded to several local basketball players

The Big East Conference held its senior all-star games and gave out end-of-season awards Saturday at Old Town High School’s McKenzie Gymnasium.

Members of the girls’ senior all-star teams were Madison Chadbourne of Foxcroft Academy, Camryn Lyons and Cheyanne Libby, both of Mattanawcook Academy; Hannah Clement of Orono; Natalie Hill and Katie Condon, both of Houlton; Madison Card, Kate Whitney and Caitlin Bean, all of Ellsworth; Bryanna Crouse and Allessa Oakes, both of Hermon; Taylor Williams, Olivia Hudson and Regan Nelson, all of Presque Isle; Kelsey Shaw, Keely McConomy and Sierra Tapley, all of Mount Desert Island; Hannah Philippon of John Bapst, Jenna Boucher of Caribou and Mikayla Richards, Brooke Mishou and Caitlyn King, all of Old Town.

The boys’ teams included Harrison Dieuveuil of John Bapst, Kaleb Gifford, Drew Coulombe, Andre Miller and Chad Bartlett, all of Old Town; Hunter Smith of Foxcroft Academy, Kam Hines of Orono, Tyler Beaton of Hermon, Garrett Ring and Jacob Brown, both of Houlton; Gunner Maxwell of Mattanawcook Academy, Stefan Milivojevic, Cameron Varney and Janko Stojanovic, all of Washington Academy; Isaiah Keene of MDI, Kyle Rider of Presque Isle, Bruce St. Peter and Nick Bagley, both of Ellsworth; Donovan Savage of Caribou and Andrew Prescott and Kyle Ham, both of Central.

Condon, Tapley and Ham were unable to play due to injury.

Recognized as all-conference first-team choices for girls were Shaw, Card, Kolleen Bouchard of Houlton, Emily Wheaton of Presque Isle and Crystal Bell of John Bapst.

The second team consisted of Hill, Clement, Sydney Allen and Libby Cook, both of Central; and Emi Higgins of Hermon. Third-teamers were Whitney, Lyons, Abigail Simpson and Grace Bickford, both of Foxcroft Academy; and Emily Lagerstrom of Presque Isle.

Honorable mention went to Richards, McConomy, Tapley, Philippon, Williams, Condon, Caitlyn Lyons of Washington Academy, Aspen Flewelling of Houlton and Searra Herbert of Caribou.

Bouchard was voted Player of the Year, Brent Barker of MDI and Shawn Graham of Houlton shared Coach of the Year honors and Washington Academy received the girls’ sportsmanship award.

Making the boys’ all-conference first team were Milivojevic, Miller, Savage, Smith and Nate DeSisto of Orono. The second team includes St. Peter, Beaton, Coulombe, Riley Swanson of MDI and Bryce Harmon of Ellsworth, while the third team is made up of Bagley, Stojanovic, Gifford, Keenan Marseille of Hermon and Russell Kropf of MDI.

Receiving honorable mention were Bartlett, Ham, Hines, Jake Koffman of Orono, Caleb Shaw of Central and Alex Mooney of John Bapst.

Milivojevic was named Player of the Year and Ellsworth’s Peter Austin was selected as Coach of the Year. John Bapst received the boys’ sportsmanship award.

For team awards, Caribou recipients were Savage and Boucher for Scholar-Athletes, Ricky Sheldon and Madison Doucette for Paul Soucy Spirit Awards and Savage and Hope Shea for Defensive Awards.

For Presque Isle, Kyle Rider and Taylor Williams were the Scholar-Athletes, Jason Dumais and Lagerstrom garnered Paul Soucy Spirit Awards and Randon Mortland and Hudson won the Defensive Awards.