Michaud, Jose take Cary Classic titles

4 years ago

CARIBOU, Maine — Ralph Michaud of Presque Isle won an exciting tie-breaker with Jamie Leavitt of Millinocket to capture the 36th annual Cary Classic Benefit Golf Tournament held at the Caribou Country Club on Saturday, July 6. 

Michaud and the defending champion, Leavitt, were tied with an 18-hole low gross score of 73, before Michaud birdied the tie-breaking hole to win the $300 grand prize for the men’s Division I. 

Emily Jose of Caribou continued her dominance in the Ladies Division I, and earned the $300 prize by finishing with a low gross score of 78. In addition to cash, the winners were presented with engraved glass bowls and glassware commemorating the 36th tournament and Cary Medical Center’s 95th anniversary.

The tourney serves as the largest fundraising event for the Jefferson Cary Foundation, and for the sixth consecutive year, Katahdin Trust Company was the major corporate sponsor of the event. More than 50 other businesses contributed corporate and hole sponsorships and a number of other local businesses and individuals made cash donations or provided prizes. 

“We can’t thank all of our sponsors enough for their generosity,” said Tamra Kilcollins, JCF executive director. “Along with our sponsors there are so many people to thank; the crew at the Caribou Country Club, our Jefferson Cary Foundation board members and all of the other many volunteers that help to make it a great event. The course was in exceptional condition again this year for our golfers.”

The winner of the longest drive for the men was Tom Towle, and for the women, Emily Jose. The closest-to-the-pin prizes went to Steve Clark and Kris Doody for hole number 3 and Ralph Michaud and Betty Deveau for hole number 7. The new closest-to-the-line prizes went to David LaFlamme and Judy Dombroski. 

The top three in each of the divisions of play were the following:

Men’s Div. I gross: first, Ralph Michaud – 73; second, Phil Pelletier – 74; third, Mike Rioux – 75.

Men’s Div. I net: 1st – Jamie Leavitt – 69; second, Tom Towle – 69; third, Dayne Savage – 69.

Men’s Div. II gross: first, Jeff Perley – 82; second, Brent Hatchard – 82; third, Kirk Thibeau – 84

Men’s Div. II net: first, Stephen St. Peter – 70; second, Ryan Guerrette – 72; third, Donovan Savage – 72

Men’s Div. III gross: first, Terry Hopkins, 80; second, Rob Kieffer – 86; third, Lou Lorenzo – 90.

Men’s Div. III net: first, Greg Dickinson – 68; second, Chris Richards – 72; third, Mike Beaulieu – 74.

Men’s Div. IV gross: first, Spenser King – 90; second, Craig Gustafson – 97; third, Larry Cyr – 99.

Men’s Div. IV net: first, Neal Griffeth – 71; second, Sam Clockedile – 74; third, Roger Anderson – 77.

Ladies Div. I gross: first, Emily Jose – 78; second, Betty Deveau – 87; third, Janice Beaulieu – 104

Ladies Div. I net: first, Judy Dombroski – 65; second, Dee Pelletier – 73; third, Kris Doody – 84.

Ladies Div. II gross: 1st– Mary Lee Anderson – 102; second, Stephanie Flagg – 133; third, Chelsea Desrosier – 169.

Ladies Div. II net: first, Liz Lagasse – 79; second, Andrea Gallagher – 93.