Top Stories

County coaches receive accolades

BANGOR, Maine — Five Aroostook County coaches have been chosen by the Maine Principals Association for Coach of the Year honors for their respective sports.

Receiving the distinction this year are: Joe Greaves, a soccer coach at Presque Isle High School; David Grant, golf, Houlton Middle-High School; John Habeeb, tennis, Caribou High School; Sami Jo Allen, cheering, Central Aroostook High School; and Carl Theriault, nordic skiing, Fort Kent High School.

For Houlton’s Grant, who has been coaching high school golf for 10 years [eight in Houlton and two with in Hodgdon], the award was shocking. “I never, ever dreamed of this award,” he said. “I am pleased, honored, and humbled. I  have had some really great kids to work with and they are what has made this all possible.”

Grant said his coaching philosophy was twofold. “First, I try to make it fun for all and get them to play the best they possibly can,” he said. “Secondly, I teach them to have respect for their fellow players and competitors and the game, but most of all to respect themselves.”

Theriault also tipped his cap to the many people who have supported the ski program in the Valley for many years.

“There are so many people behind what I love to do, and I want to thank all of you for helping us have a Nordic and Biathlon program in our community that serves so many kids with so much history and commitment,” Theriault said.

He also thanked the many coaches, parents, volunteers and loved ones for their support over the years. In particular, Theriault lauded the student athletes. “[Thank you to the] great kids that I love to ski with, who work so hard and have so much fun on skis,” he said. “You are all part of the village that makes our community great. I have the best job in the world, and there is no place else that I would rather be coaching than in Fort Kent.”

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.