Porter named Heisman High School state winner

DYER BROOK, Maine — Makaelyn Porter, a senior at Southern Aroostook Community School, has been selected as the Heisman High School Scholarship winner for Maine. 

In being selected for the honor, Porter received a $500 scholarship and was entered into the national contest. From an applicant pool of thousands of high school scholar-athletes graduating

with the class of 2020, a total of 100 students were named state winners.

Porter has been a three-sport standout athlete for Southern Aroostook Community School, playing soccer, basketball and softball. She helped lead the Warriors to a 20-2 overall record for both the 2018 and 2019 seasons, culminating with state Class D basketball championships.

National Finalists receive a $1,000 college scholarship and the male and female National winners will each receive a $5,000 college scholarship and a trip to New York City to attend the 2019 Heisman Trophy Weekend events including the televised ESPN Heisman Trophy ceremony and 85th annual Heisman Dinner Gala.

The Heisman Memorial Trophy is annually awarded to the most outstanding college football player in the nation. The Heisman High School Scholarship extends the Heisman prestige to the nation’s most esteemed high school seniors by recognizing and rewarding outstanding scholar-athletes who understand that the most important victories not only happen on the field, but in their schools and communities. These remarkable young leaders set the example and make a game-changing difference every day, paving the way to greatness for everyone around them.

To apply, students must be graduating with the class of 2020, have a cumulative weighted high school grade point average of a B (3.0) or better, participate in at least one of the 48 sports recognized by the International Olympic Committee and/or the National Federation of State High School Association and be a leader in his/her school and community.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.