Easton students set examples as leaders

17 years ago


Easton class parts announced
    EASTON, Maine – The principal of Easton Jr./Sr. High School, Ralph Conroy Jr., is pleased to announce the honor parts for the graduation ceremonies of the Class of 2007. The graduation ceremony will be held at 7 p.m. on Friday, June 8.

Michelle Osgood is the daughter of Tom and Ann Osgood. Michelle has been extremely active in the Music Department, participating in the All Aroostook Music Festival since grade 6. Michelle has taken piano lessons from Dr. Beth Miller for many years and now gives lessons. She has been an accompanist for the elementary and middle/high school chorus as well as the jazz choir and has played the piano at numerous school events. She has participated in the UMPI/Community Band and last year was selected to participate in the All State Chorus Festival in Orono. She has performed with the Easton Theater Company, One Act and senior plays. Her junior exhibition performance won first place. Student Council secretary, Key Club president, French Club vice president and yearbook editor are a few of her many leadership roles. Michelle served as the Northern Maine regional representative for the National Honor Society. A talented athlete, she has played varsity basketball and soccer. She is a recipient of the 2007 Maine Principal’s Award. Michelle has been accepted to Husson College where she will study biology.
Kassie Lovely is the daughter of Pat and Sally Lovely. She has been very involved with student government, having served as president of her class, the Student Council and the National Honor Society. As president of the National Honor Society, she helped plan and coordinate a regional conference for 150 youth and their advisors. Her organizational and leadership skills resulted in a conference that received very high praise. Kassie is an outstanding athlete; she was selected to be a member of the All Aroostook teams in soccer, basketball and volleyball. Her skills in mathematics have earned her and the Easton math team many first place trophies. In addition to these impressive credentials, Kassie is an excellent role model for our entire student body and an asset to the school and community. Red Sox baseball, teaching swimming and being a lifeguard are some of her special interests. Kassie will continue her education at Husson College this fall where she will study occupational therapy.
First Honor Essayist
Laura Hopkins is the daughter of David and Charlotte Hopkins and Vicki and Leo Saucier. Laura is a gifted artist who can draw amazing portraits and paint in many different styles including: Impressionism, Surrealism and Cubism. Her work has been on display in the Julia Gallery at the Farnsworth Art Museum in Rockland. A talented performer, she has been in One Act Play, senior play, jazz choir and the Easton Theatre Company. A great athlete, she has played volleyball, varsity soccer and basketball. She has held many leadership positions including senior class treasurer and Key Club treasurer. An active member of Varsity Club, French Club and National Honor Society, she has volunteered many hours to help with Special Olympics, Walk for Leukemia and Walk for Life. Laura has been accepted at the University of Southern Maine where she will study civil engineering.
Second Honor Essayist
Jacob King is the son of C.J. and Jodi King. A very talented performer, he was in many of the shows put on by the Easton Theatre Company and has had roles in One Act Play and two senior plays. His junior exhibition performance earned third place. He is a great athlete, having played volleyball and being captain of the soccer team. His soccer coach spoke of his presence on the field at a recent athletic awards ceremony. Jacob has held several leadership positions including: senior class president, Varsity Club co-president and French Club president. He is the treasurer of the Easton chapter of the National Honor Society and a member of the Student Council. Outside of school he enjoys camping, skiing, snowmobiling, tennis, paintball and being a member of the Easton Volunteer Fire Department.  Jacob has been accepted to Husson College where he will study accounting in the fall.
    Easton Academic Awards  

EASTON – Ralph Conroy, Easton Jr/Sr High School principal, and Lynda Foren-Turner, guidance director, presented awards for academic excellence and perfect attendance to the following students during the Academic Awards Banquet held May 22:
• Students who were eligible to receive a Letter were: Freshmen – Kaitlin Bennett, Lisa Dayringer, Luke Fuller and Anna Sherwood; Sophomore – Kilynne Beaulieu; Seniors: Holly Beaton, Denise Clark and Tyler Plourde.
• An Honors Pin was presented to: Junior – Kristen Boxwell.
• An Honors Pin and calculator were presented to: Sophomores – Sam Bacon, Katrina Martin and Bradley Trask.
• Plaques were presented  to: Junior – Molly White; and Senior – Abby Gray.
• $50 savings bonds were presented  to: Seniors  – Leah Alexander, Seth Cleaves, Jacob King, Laura Hopkins and Briana White.
• $100 gift certificates were presented to: Seniors – Kassie Lovely and Michelle Osgood.
• Honors Certificates were presented to the following students: Seniors – Kendra Conroy, Brandon Davenport and Tammy Dayringer; Juniors – Matt Blodget, Brittney LaFrance and Amanda Weeder; Sophomores – C. J. Beaton and Megan Bradley; and Freshmen – Krystle Gadaire, Corey White and Bryan Young.
• Perfect Attendance Pins were presented to: Seniors – Leah Alexander and Tammy Dayringer; Sophomores – C. J. Beaton, Katrina Martin and Bradley Trask; and Freshman – Lisa Dayringer.
• Lynda Foren-Turner presented the President’s Award for Educational Achievement to: Seniors – Holly Beaton, Denise Clark and Kendra Conroy.
• The President’s Award for Educational Excellence was presented to :     Seniors  – Leah Alexander, Seth Cleaves, Tammy Dayringer, Abby Gray, Laura Hopkins, Jacob King, Kassie Lovely, Michelle Osgood                              and Briana White.
The following Jr. Hi. students also received awards:
• Grade 8 – Sydney Trask received an Excellence Pin and $30 gift certificate; Samantha Fuller and Taylor Lawrence received an Excellence Pin and an Honor Pin; Jacob Bacon and Zachary Clark  received an Honor Pin; Brooke Hammond received a letter; and Booke Lunney received an Honors Certificate.
• Grade 7 – Ariana Babineau, Jonah Bacon, Meghan Frank, Danielle Dudley and Holden Turner  received a letter and Honor Pin; Jessica Bennett, Reid Clark, Amanda Dayringer, and Sarah Plourde received a letter; and Michaela Hathaway, Abigail Pool and Cody Tompkins received an Honors Certificate.
• Perfect Attendance Awards were presented to Reid Clark and Sydney Trask.
• Lynda Foren -Turner presented  The President’s Award for Educational Excellence to: Grade 8 – Jacob Bacon, Zachary Clark, Samantha Fuller, Taylor Lawrence and Sydney Trask.