Athletes selected for All-Aroostook honors

17 years ago

The Aroostook League has recently released their selections for the “All-Aroostook” athletes for the spring 2007 sports season. Athletes are selected based on the criteria established by the Aroostook league and are recognized during their school’s spring sports award assemblies.
    For Class B and C, Caribou’s Kyle Corrigan, Dustin Haines, Jordan Haines and Patrick Thibodeau were named All-Aroostook athletes. Presque Isle’s Luke Ireland and Logan York were also appointed.
In Class D baseball, Ashland’s Kevin Baker, Tyler Cote and Jeremy Tarr have been recognized. Sam Clockedile and Emmanuel Martinez, both of Central Aroostook; Jake Kenneson, of Fort Fairfield; Matt Enman, of Limestone/Maine School of Science and Mathematics; and Steven Pesut and Adam Thompson, both of Washburn, were also selected as All-Aroostook athletes.
Caribou’s Kristen Esplin, Serena Grier and Jessica Kinney were appointed to the All-Aroostook team for Class B and C softball. Also recognized were Chelsea Glovins and Angela Norsworthy, both of Presque Isle.
For Class D Softball, Ashland’s Mindy Chasse and Whitney Flint were recognized. Sarah Long and Latisha Neece, both of Central Aroostook; Kelly Osgood, of Fort Fairfield; Melanie Allen and Julie Peers, both of Limestone/MSSM; and Kristen Goupille and Amber Palmer, of Washburn, were also named All-Aroostook.
For boys track events, Vikings Drew Freme, Spencer McElwain, Sam Sheehan, Ben Smith, Jesse Stephens and Tyler Theriault were all recognized. Also awarded All-Aroostook certificates were Elizan McLean and Corey Park, of Presque Isle.
In the field events, Carlin Dubay, of Caribou, and Ian Macomber, of Limestone were named All-Aroostook athletes.
For track and field events, Caribou’s Robby Blaisdell, Stefan Ciszewski and Caleb Swanberg made the cut for All-Aroostook. Presque Isle’s Nathan Ackerson and Gerard Desjardins also were recognized.
The Emery Plourde 2007 Co-Track Champion Award went to Sam Sheehan, of Caribou, and Ian Macomber, of Limestone/MSSM for their achievements this year.
On the girls side, Lady Vikings Megan Bossie, Emily Collins, Victoria Dorman, Karcynn Dorsey, Katelyn Flick, Hannah Saunders and Lily Sund were named All-Aroostook for the girls track events. For Presque Isle, Katie Buob, Arielle Googins and Erin Thomas were selected.
For the girls field events, Caribou’s Karyn King and Fort Fairfield’s Hillary McNamee and Rose-Mary Williams were recognized.
Overall, for the track and field events, Lady Viking Christine Savage and Lady Wildcats Krista Buck, Amber Griffin and Katrina Whittier were named All-Aroostook. The Howard Lello 2007 Co-Track Champion Awards were given to Hilary McNamee, of Fort Fairfield, and Jamie Pelletier, of Fort Kent.
The All-Aroostook tennis singles on the boys side were Shane Belanger and Casey Lancaster, both of Caribou, and Alex Carter, of Presque Isle. The boys doubles nominations were Taylor Jepson and Spencer McElwain, of Caribou; and Sam Porter and Faizaan Shamsi, of Presque Isle.
The girls singles All-Aroostook winners were Casey Corriveau, of Caribou, and Taylor Parent, of Presque Isle. Brittany Bearden and Courtney Hoffeses, a doubles team from Presque Isle, were selected as All-Aroostook as well.