Recreation activities

15 years ago

Pony League Tournament
    Round 1: #4 Fort Fairfield defeated #5 Ashland/#1Woodland by a score of 16 to11.
    Round 2: # 2 Wildcats defeated #3 Rod Brewer Design by a score of 7 to 4.

    Round 3: #2 Wildcats defeated #1 Woodland by a score of 5 to 1.
    Round 4: #2 Wildcats defeated #1 Mars Hill by a score of 5 to 4.
    The Wildcats, coached by Coach Tim Olore and Bennett Cassidy, won the Pony League Aroostook County Tournament.
    In the RBD vs. Wildcats game Dillon Kingsbury pitched a six-hitter while striking out eight. Brennan Shaw, Brock Cassidy and Wilder York combined for the win with nine strikeouts and only four hits. RBD was led at the plate by Ryan Bernier who doubled and Landon Keiser, Jacob Williams and Corey Belanger with singles. The Wildcats were led at the plate by York, Amos Dean, Andrew Legassie and Logan Good all singled while Connor Shaw had a single and a double. The Wildcats were led in the field by B. Shaw, Isaac Lajoie, C. Shaw, Dean and Andrew Kofstad.
    The Wildcats defeated Woodland to move on to the championship game. B. Shaw and Cassidy combined to pitch a one-hitter, striking out 16 batters. The Wildcats were led offensively by B. Shaw with a single, Cassidy with two singles, Dean with one double and Lajoie with a double and a homerun. Key defensive plays were made by B. Shaw, Lajoie, Dean, York and Cassidy.
    In the championship game, the Wildcats defeated Mars Hill by a score of 5 to 4 in eight exciting innings. B. Shaw and York combined for the win on the mound allowing five hits and striking out 20 batters. The Wildcats were led at the plate by Dean with three singles. B. Shaw, C. Shaw, York and Legassie all singled, and Lajoie had two singles. C. Shaw made a game-saving catch on a hard line drive to end the game and seal the win for the Wildcats.
    Pony League awards were given Ryan Bernier for the RBD coaching award and York for the Wildcats coaching award.  MVP awards were given to Lajoie and B. Shaw.
Major League Finals
    The Major League championship game last Wednesday night saw the first place Elks defeat the number-two Rotary 5-4.
    Nick Raineiri pitched six strong innings and Tyler Seeley earned the win for the Elks. Cody Lyford pitched a complete game for the Rotary in the loss. Leading hitters for the Rotary were Ryder Soucy and Lyford each with two singles, and Andrew Patterson with a single. Elks were led at the plate by Andre Cushman, Rainieri and Jacob Carter all with key singles. Key defensive plays by Rotary were made by Soucy, Chase Norton, Lyford, Patterson, Keegan Lowe and Calvin McKay. Making outstanding defensive plays for the Elks were Hale Cushman, Tyler Seeley, Josh Gordon, Raineiri, Jenna Hallett and Chris Marquis.
    Coach awards were presented to Aaron Kofstad, Matthew Tilley and Cushman. MVP awards went to Rotary’s Ryder Soucy, the Elks’ Tyler Seeley and the Elks’ Josh Gordon.
Major League All-Stars
    The 10-12-year-old All-Stars from Presque Isle took part in the annual tournament held at Hill Top Park in Caribou last week.
    In the first round Presque Isle drew Ashland. Starting on the hill for Presque Isle was Nick Raineri who allowed only two earned runs in his outing. Raineri and Ben Buckley had two doubles each on offense. Tyler Seeley added two triples, and Andrew Michaud and Cody Lyford chipped in with two singles each.
    Presque Isle went on later that day and faced off with Fort Fairfield. Earning the win and the start as pitcher was Kofstad. Seeley stroked a homer and a double while Buckley, Karson Wilcox Hale Cushman and Kofstad added a single each. Lyford and Andrew Patterson both ripped two singles apiece.
    On day two, the power house Wildcats of Presque Isle faced their long time rivals the Caribou Vikings in the semifinal match up. On the hill for Presque Isle was left-hander Chase Norton who struck out nine and allowed two earned runs on four hits. Support for Norton came mostly from his catcher Josh Gordon who went three-for-three at bat with two singles, a double and three RBIs. Also adding hits for the Cats were Kofstad with a single, Seeley with a double, Norton with two singles and Raineri with a single.
    In the final game, the Wildcats took on the defending champions, the Madawaska Owls. Hard-hitting Gordon had the call to the mound allowing three earned runs on five hits. At the plate for the Cats Seeley had a double, Gordon had two singles and Kofstad and Lyford both added a hit. The Cats produced only two runs on five hits, and lost to Madawaska by the score of 8-2. Presque Isle coaches Bennett Cassidy and Bradlee Boyles were very pleased with the effort put forward in the tournament by all the young athletes and would like to congratulate both Madawaska and Presque Isle in a hard fought game.
Baseball finals
Key Bank vs. K of C
    In the end of the year round robin, Key Bank faced K of C in game one. K of C won 4-3. Cooper Madore picked up the win while Joseph Boone received the loss. Cooper Madore had 13 strikeouts. K of C was led by Denny Young with a double and single, and Kyle Kilcollins and Madore with a single. Alex Brewer had the only two hits for Key Bank.
Savings Bank vs. Katahdin Trust
    In game two, Savings Bank took on Katahdin Trust. Saving Bank got an early lead with two singles from Josiah Morse and Byron Winslow. Katahdin Trust came back with doubles from Corrie Kilcollins and Nick Bartlett. Khasen Lowe had the game-winning double. Katahdin Trust won 6-5.
K of C vs. Savings Bank
    Jake Kinney pitched a no-hitter to help K of C to a 7-1 victory. Winslow received the loss. K of C was led b Young who doubled and singled. Madore, Jack James and Patrick Cash doubled. Michael Mahon also had a double.
Key Bank vs. Katahdin Trust
    In the final game, Key Bank faced Katahdin Trust. Katahdin Trust won 3-1. Each team had one hit. Ryan Player had the Katahdin Trust hit, and Sam Gray had the hit for Key Bank.
    Coach award winners were Kofstad, Bartlett, Madore and Boone.


ImageStaff photo/Meridith Paterson
    2008 PONY LEAGUE CHAMPIONS – The Presque Isle Wildcats finished off Mars Hill for the 2008 County title on Aug. 5. Team members were, from the left in front, coach Bennett Cassidy, Jon Fortin, Connor Savage, Connor Shaw, Wilder York and Isaac Lajoie; in back, Michael Guerrette, Cody Flannery, Logan Good, Ryley Norton, Andrew Kofstad, Amos Dean, Brennen Shaw and Andrew Legassie; and absent from photograph, Brock Cassidy.