Washburn boys win volleyball tournament

12 years ago

Washburn boys win volleyball tournament

By Jon Gulliver

Staff Writer

    FORT FAIRFIELD — The Washburn boys are the 2012 Aroostook League Volleyball Division II champions after downing Easton in the finals.

    Ten teams were split into two pools for the tournament, which was played at Fort Fairfield High School on March 17.

    In pool A, Easton went 8-0 in preliminary play; Washburn was 6-2;  Limestone/MSSM was 3-5; Hodgdon went 2-6; and Ashland was 1-7.

    In pool B, Wisdom was 7-1, Van Buren had a 5-3 record; Fort Fairfield went 4-4; Greater Houlton Christian Academy was 4-4; and Central Aroostook was 0-8.

    In the semifinals Washburn downed Wisdom, 25-16 and 25-19, and Easton beat Van Buren, 25-22 and 25-17.

    The final was a closely matched with Washburn winning the first game, 25-11. Easton came back to tie the best of three series with a 25-17 win in game two. The final required extra play with Washburn winning, 26-24.

    Jordan McLaughlin of Washburn was named tournament MVP.

    Also making the All-Tournament Team were: Michael Cook of Ashland, Central Aroostook’s Cory Richardson, Cody Tompkins of Easton, Fort Fairfield’s Derek Dufour, Ethan Holmes of GHCA, Austin Dow-Smith of LCS/MMS, Connor Lapierre of Van Buren, Washburn’s Mason Turner and Nathan Oakes from Wisdom.