UMPI students inducted into Phi Eta Sigma national honor society

10 years ago

The University of Maine at Presque Isle chapter of Phi Eta Sigma inducted 26 students and two honorary members into its national honor society earlier in the academic year.

The induction ceremony lasted only 45 minutes, but provided students with a prestigious honor.
In addition to becoming members, inductees received some special items that will be worn when they graduate. Among those items are cords and a medallion, which signify them as a member of the honor society.
Phi Eta Sigma is a national honor society for college students that encourages academic excellence. By giving more than $285,000 in scholarships annually, according to the website. It is the oldest and largest freshmen honor society; it was founded at the University of Illinois in 1923. There are now more than 350 chapters throughout the United States, and more than 1 million inducted members.
Including the new inductees of this year’s class, a total of 208 scholars have been inducted into the Phi Eta Sigma national honor society at UMPI since it was re-chartered in 2005.
“This year’s class of 26 students and two honorary members is a great addition to Phi Eta Sigma. As members, they will perform service to UMPI and the community as well as maintain their high scholastic achievement. It is great to have such strong leaders interested in joining our group,” said Jim Stepp, dean of students and interim vice president of student affairs, when speaking about the organization.
New inductees include: Honorary Members President Linda K. Schott and Coordinator of Student Activities and Leadership Development, Vanessa Pearson. New students include: Jorge Alvarado, Elizabeth Barbosa, Zachary Benner, Karrie Brawn, Ethan Burke, Kelsey Churchill, Elizabeth Day, Amanda Dayringer, Benjamin Everett, Felicia Farnham, Shawn Frost, Kody Gates, Jaron Gray, David Guy, Elizabeth Harwood, Erica Hemphill, Heather Herbert, Amanda Larrabee, Brittany Luetjen, Tyler Michalowski, Walter Mosher, Nicholas Parks, Kathryn Patenaude, Cody Pond, Laurence Shorette and Danielle Thibodeau.
This year’s executive committee includes: President Melinda Hitchcock, Vice President Cole Dumonthier, Treasurer and Secretary Michelle Bucci, Historian Sarah Abigail Pickering-Ames, Senior Advisor Rebecca Stepp, and Advisor James Daniel Stepp.