Beaver athletes recognized during fall awards ceremony

10 years ago

WASHBURN, Maine — Washburn District High School’s fall sports awards ceremony was held Nov. 20, 2014. After athletes and their family members were welcomed by athletic director Ron Ericson, coach Marcie Barbarula and assistant coach Scott Olson passed out awards for girls’ soccer.

Receiving letters were Katie Easler, Macy Barker and Kaylee Doak. Pins were presented to Jessica Aube, Grace Braley, Mackenzie Worcester, Kristen Sarmiento, Mariah Davis, Brooklyn Plummer, Joan Overman, Tyra Shaw, Emelia Churchill, Mikayla Churchill, Makenzie Vaughn and Brittany Corey. Megan Farley received a pin as manager.
Girls earning third-year letters were Aube, Plummer, Emelia Churchill and Corey.
Special award winners were Worcester and Overman, co-offensive MVPs; Mikayla Churchill, most improved player; and Shaw, defensive MVP.
Worcester received a ball and plaque for becoming the school’s all-time leading scorer and the state of Maine’s third all-time leading girls’ scorer.
Coaches Andy and Kolbie Churchill presented awards for boys’ and girls’ cross country. Girls earning pins were Katie Easler, Aube, Macie Barker, Emelia Churchill, Hannah Heald, Marianne Helton, Overman, Sarmiento and Worcester. Boys earning letters were Devon Maynard and Ethan Butler, while earning pins were Michael Ericson, Derek Baker and Cameron Preston.
Three-year letter awards went to Overman and Churchill.
Special awards recipients were Churchill, girls’ outstanding runner; Worcester, girls’ coaches award; Overman, girls’ most improved runner; Baker, boys’ outstanding runner; Maynard, boys’ coaches award; and Butler, boys’ most improved runner. Michael Ericson was presented the newly-instituted cross country award named in honor of longtime Washburn cross country coach Richard “Dick” Hartford.
Coach Ben Goodwin presented the boys’ soccer awards. Those receiving pins were Caleb Thompson, Ericson, Noah Farley, Cameron Hartford, Alex Pelletier, Kevin Jordan, Andrew Gumprecht, Brandon Farley, Carter Doak, Cameron Bragg, Justin Davis, Noah Caron, McCall Turner, Tyler Jardine, Parker Thompson, Bryce Roix, Kenny Irving, Brandon Cropley and Benton Plante.  Jarrett Olson and Owen James received pins for serving as managers.
Three-year letter awards went to: Caron, Irving, Doak, Brandon Farley, Davis, Jardine and Parker Thompson.
Special awards went to: Caron, MVP; Noah Farley, outstanding offensive player; Parker Thompson, outstanding defensive player; and Ericson and Bragg, co-coaches award
Varsity letter jackets were presented to Cameron Bragg, Noah Farley, Marianne Helton, Tyra Shaw, Noah Caron, Emelia Churchill and Lucia Bragg.