AARP seeks 2016 Andrus nominees

8 years ago

PORTLAND — AARP Maine is seeking nominations for its 2016 AARP Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors those individuals who are sharing their experience, talent and skills to enrich the lives of their community members.

The annual award is named after AARP founder Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus, who founded the organization in 1958 at the age of 73.

The Maine Andrus Award for Community Service is an annual awards program developed to honor individuals whose service is a unique and valuable contribution to society. Last year’s recipient was Dale Flewelling of Houlton.

“Volunteerism is clearly a new way of looking at retirement for older Americans,” said Lori Parham, AARP Maine state director. “Many are finding that they want to remain active and involved and that volunteerism fulfills this need and the desire to help others. Through this recognition, AARP Maine encourages members and prospective members to use their skills and assistance as a way to remain vital as well as make a difference in their community.”

A panel of staff and volunteers will screen nominees on criteria including their positive impact on the lives of individuals age 50 and over, their improvement of the community in or for which the work was performed, and the ways in which their volunteerism inspires others.

Rich Livingston, current AARP Maine volunteer state president, stated “The AARP Maine Andrus Award acts as a symbol to our members and to the public that we can all work together for positive social change.”

The application deadline is July 30. Nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

They must be 50 or older, but do not need to be a member of AARP.

The achievements, accomplishments or service on which nominations are based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay, and must reflect AARP’s vision and mission.

Couples or partners who perform service together are eligible; however, teams are not. The recipient must live in the awarding state. This is not a posthumous award. For further information visit