Credit Union League gives annual awards

8 years ago

PORTLAND — As part of its recent 78th annual meeting and convention held in Portland, the Maine Credit Union League presented its annual awards to six individuals who, combined, have nearly 175 years of experience being involved with Maine’s credit unions. 

One of this year’s honorees, Rod Rovzar, has worked with credit unions across Maine including a number of long-term relationships with credit unions in Aroostook County.

More than 800 credit union representatives and guests attended this year’s convention held in May in Portland, the largest crowd in at least two decades.

“Though the theme of the 2016 Maine CU League annual meeting and convention was, ‘Maine credit unions – Together.Toward.Tomorrow’’ a select group of individuals were honored for their past contributions to their own credit unions and/or to the collective Maine CU System. The recognition and accolades for all of this year’s winners was well-deserved,” said Richard Dupuis, chair of the Maine CU League’s Awards and Convention Committee, which coordinates the annual awards.

John Doe, vice chair of the board at Eastmill FCU, based in East Millinocket, with an additional branch in Patten, was the recipient of the Alexander Ferguson Award for Outstanding CU Volunteer. Doe has been a credit union volunteer for 30 years, and was recognized for “always being willing to volunteer his time and energy to help out others and participate in CU related functions.”