Houlton councilors tap Hines, Young for policy committee

6 years ago

HOULTON, Maine — Town councilors have chosen two new representatives to serve on the Maine Municipal Association Legislative Policy Committee.

During a meeting on Monday evening, June 25, councilors voted unanimously to approve the nominations of Diane Hines, Ludlow town manager, and Dwayne Young, administrative assistant in Weston, to the committee.  

The Maine Municipal Association’s legislative platforms, policies and positions are developed by a 70-member Legislative Policy Committee which is made up of two municipal officials from each of the state’s 35 Senate Districts. Municipal officers within those district elect the LPC representatives.

Four people ran for two positions, and Town Manager William MacDonald put forth the names after consultation with other town officials and also welcomed input from councilors.

He also said that he based his recommendations on proximity and opinions on municipal issues.

Hines has served as manager of Ludlow for more than seven years, and also has been manager of Reed Plantation since 2015. She previously was Hammond’s town manager from 2006 to 2012.

Young has served in his position in Weston since 2013, and prior to that was treasurer, tax collector and clerk in Orient from May 2016 to July 2017, and counter clerk in Lubec from 2010-2013. He serves as deputy treasurer in Reed Plantation.

The terms will last until 2020.