Fort Fairfield elects new councilors

6 years ago

FORT FAIRFIELD, Maine — The town of Fort Fairfield voted for two town councilors on Tuesday, Nov. 6, with one candidate winning re-election.

Candidates for two of the town’s five council seats appeared on the ballot. The four contenders included current town councilor Scott Smith. The other seat was made available when councilor Jason Barnes did not seek re-election.

Voters in Fort Fairfield gave the two seats to Mark Babin, who secured 1,015 votes, and Smith who secured 504 votes, according to the town clerk.

Babin and Smith beat Peter Newcomb and Kendall Stratton III, who each received less than 500 votes.

Babin and Smith join Robert Kilcollins, Mitchell Butler and Melissa Libby on the town council.

Fort Fairfield voters also elected two representatives to the Maine School Administrative District 20 board of directors. Only two candidates ran for those two seats: Renis Levasseur, who currently sits on the board, and Christina Theriault.