The Star-Herald

Rosters announced for March 6 County all-star basketball event

The annual Aroostook League Senior All-Star Basketball Game will be held at Caribou High School on Wednesday, March 6, with the girls’ game starting at 5:30 p.m. and the boys’ game at 7 p.m.

This is the final time for basketball fans in Aroostook County to watch many of the outstanding senior boys and girls basketball players display their skills on the hardwood.

Admission is $3 for students and $5 for adults.

Proceeds from the game fund the Aroostook League Scholarship program. Last year, the Aroostook League awarded 10 $400 scholarships at the annual Aroostook League Scholar/Athlete Banquet held in March at Caribou High School. The scholarship winners were chosen by a drawing and the scholarships were awarded at the beginning of each student’s second semester of their first year in college.

Olivia Tardie, left of Ashland grabs a pass during her team’s quarterfinal tournament game in February. Tardie was chosen to play in the Aroostook League senior all-star event in Caribou March 6. (Joseph Cyr | Pioneer Times)

This year’s Aroostook League Scholar/Athlete Banquet will be held on Monday, March 11, at 6 p.m. at the Caribou Vocational/Technical Center.

All those involved in the March 6 all-star games, including officials, coaches, ticket takers, ticket sellers, the announcer, halftime performers, time keepers and scorekeepers, are volunteering their time to aid the Aroostook League Scholarship program.

Students from the Maine Dance Academy will perform at halftime of both games.

Those selected to play in the games, chosen by a committee made up of members of the local media and school administrators, are as follows:


Caribou: Austin Findlen; Central Aroostook: Ben Thomas; Easton: Isaac Currier; Fort Kent:  Caleb Delisle, Camden Jandreau and Austin Plourde; GHCA: Isaac Potter and Cole Winslow; Hodgdon: Andrew Tuttle; Houlton: Nick Brewer and Nolan Porter; Katahdin: John McNally; Madawaska: Tristan Cyr; Presque Isle: Trace Cyr and Jonah Hudson; Southern Aroostook: Jayden Burpee and Garrett Siltz; and Woodland: Gavin Gardner, Drew Hayward and Sabre Phelps.

Jason Dumais of Presque Isle, who is injured, also will be recognized as an Aroostook all-star. Phil Faulkner and Ron Ericson will serve as the coaches.


Ashland: Olivia Tardie; Caribou: Alexis Rodriquez; Central Aroostook: Ashlee Harris and Annika Nicholas; East Grand: Mallory Gilman; Fort Kent: Hannah Daigle, Mikayla Pelletier; Hodgdon: Kora Lambert; Katahdin: Hannah Kyllonen; Madawaska: Jenna Dugal and Brianne Thibeault; Presque Isle: Molly Kingsbury and Madison Michaud; Shead: Madison Greenlaw; Southern Aroostook: Kassidy Mathers, Katelyn Slauenwhite and Kylie Vining; Washburn: Kassandra Farley; and Woodland: Brooke Russell and Sadie Smith.

Presque Isle teammates Savannah Rodriguez and Sydney Thompson will attend as injured non-players. Merilda Plourde and Mim Gagnon will coach the teams.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.