Caribou athlete among six awarded $5,000 hall of fame scholarships

Alex Ezzy of Caribou High School is among this year’s recipients of the 2019 Maine Sports Hall of Fame Scholar-Athlete Awards.

Ezzy, along with Emma Hargreaves of Old Town, Cymeria Robshaw of Penquis Valley in Milo, Nyagoa Baya of Westbrook, Tyler Bridge of Wells and Liberty Ladd of Falmouth will be presented with $5,000 scholarships during the hall of fame’s annual inductions and awards banquet on May 19 at the Merrill Auditorium in Portland.

A four-year starter and three-year captain for the Caribou soccer team, Ezzy was a three-time Penobscot Valley Conference first-team all-star and the PVC Player of the Year in 2018. He was a two-time Maine Soccer Coaches Association All-State selection and a United States Soccer Coaches Association All-New England pick.

He also has been a captain and starting shortstop for the baseball team and was an All-Aroostook choice in 2018. Ezzy is a member of the National Honor Society, competes on the math team, has been a class officer all four years and is a peer tutor. He plans to major in engineering in college and continue his soccer career.

Tickets for the Maine Sports Hall of Fame banquet are on sale for $25 each at or via mail at MSHOF, P.O. Box 2619, South Portland, ME 04116. For information, contact

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.