The Star-Herald

Aroostook League holds scholar, athlete banquet

CARIBOU, Maine — The Aroostook League held its 11th annual Scholar/Athlete Banquet at the Caribou Regional Vocational/Technology Center on Thursday, March 12.

Those attending were welcomed by Evan Graves, Caribou High School Athletic Administrator, followed by a catered meal. Russell Currier from Stockholm and a Caribou High School graduate who was a member of the USA Biathlon Team and competed in two Olympic Games and many International Biathlon events during his career spoke on his experiences and how many individuals helped him during his career and what influence they had on him at the most unexpected times.

Graves introduced the scholar/athletes, several of whom were unable to attend due to a change of the banquet date caused by bad weather on the original date. 

Schoolgirl athletes recognized were: Haleigh Holmes, Ashland; Abigail Wimmer, Caribou; Breann Bradbury, Central Aroostook; Jordyn Cowger, East Grand; Jessica Halsey,  Fort Fairfield; Riley Sibley, Fort Kent; Teagan Ewings, Greater Houlton Christian Academy; Lauren McGillicuddy, Hodgdon; Abbie Worthley, Houlton; Jordyn Gardner, Katahdin; Riley Lausier, Madawaska; Jasmine Deal, Maine School of Science and Mathematics; Rebecca Rider, Presque Isle; Makaelyn Porter, Southern Aroostook; Bailey LaPlante, Van Buren; and Alyssa Pelletier, Wisdom.

Schoolboy athletes recognized were: Graham Berry, Ashland; Hayden Hunter, Caribou; Brayden Bradbury, Central Aroostook; Colby Langner, Fort Fairfield; Eden Paradis, Fort Kent: Parker Brewer, GHCA; Josh Foster, Hodgdon; Jason Collett, Houlton; Blake Howes, Katahdin; Riley Morneault, Madawaska; Toben Steevy,  MSSM; Nathan Willett, Presque Isle; Gavin Vining, Southern Aroostook; Luc Perreault,  Van Buren; and Jacob Roy, Wisdom.

The Aroostook League presents $400 awards to five boys and five girls upon successful completion of their first semester of their freshman year in college. The five girls chosen to receive this award were Ashland’s Haleigh Holmes, Fort Fairfield’s Jessica Halsey, Fort Kent’s Riley Sibley, Houlton’s Abbie Worthley and Wisdom’s Alyssa Pelletier.

The boys awards, which are named for Dwight Hunter a former athletic administrator at Caribou High School, were drawn by Hunter. The five schoolboy athletes selected were Ashland’s Graham Berry, Central Aroostook’s Brayden Bradbury, Fort Ken’s  Eden Paradis, Hodgdon’s Josh Foster, and Madawaska’s Riley Morneault.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.