Washburn recognizes baseball and softball teams at annual sports awards night

17 years ago

Washburn District High School recently held its spring sports awards ceremony in the Doc Albert gymnasium.
At the beginning of the evening, there was a slide show presented by Jermiah Sjoberg. Ron Ericson, athletic director, then welcomed everyone and introduced the coaching staff.
    The boys’ baseball coach, Ben Goodwin, presented certificates to Caio Holland and manager Paige Huston. Receiving letters were Sebastian Viola, Justin Howe, Nick Bull, Robert Williams, Trevor Pendexter and Salvatorre Viola.
Earning varsity pins were Adam Thompson, Ben Goupille, Steve Pesut, Matt Connolly and Nolan Gagnon. Certificates were awarded to Adam Thompson and Steve Pesut for their selection as All-Aroostook players. The coach’s award went to Ben Goupille. Receiving the Most Valuable Player Awards were Steven Pesut and Adam Thompson.
The girls’ softball coach, Tammy Tatlock, presented a certificate to Alex Bird. Letters were given to Jordan Chandler, Kayla Pike, Kelly O’Donnell and Alicia Saucier. Receiving varsity pins were Amy Reed, Amber Palmer, Kelsee McLaughlin, Kristen Goupille, Rachel Palmer, Margo McIntosh and Amber Reed.
Three-year varsity plaques went to Kristen Goupille, Erica McDougall and Kelsee McLaughlin. Kristen Goupille and Amber Palmer were recognized for being selected as All-Aroostook athletes. Margo McIntosh received the coach’s award. Kristen Goupille was named the most improved player, and Kelsee McLaughlin was named the most valuable player.
John Hedman, from the Northern Maine Board of Softball Umpires, presented a banner to Coach Tatlock and to the softball team for outstanding sportsmanship in the Aroostook League this season.