Washburn’s night sky

14 years ago


by Christie Cochran
Parade results

Thanks go out to Steve Boddy for his skills in announcing the August Festival Parade entries as they went by, and also thanks to the parade judges: Hollie Umphrey, Lisa Mette and Deb Corey.

Those entries receiving trophies or awards for their efforts in the annual parade include: Best Musical Group — Washburn District High School Band; Best Overall Entry — The Zumba Float; Best Use of Theme — Lidstone Memorial Methodist Church; Best Classic Vehicle — Sonny Packard with his 1929 Model A Ford truck; and the Most Original Entry — Crouseville Advent Christian Church.


Classic Car Show results

One of the more popular features during one afternoon of the festival was the Classic Car Show with Chairman Wade Thurston. There were over 50 entries and included 12 tractors. There were also eight Massey trucks in the group from Littleton, and participants came from all over the County and from as far away as Florida.
Winning the Antique (pre-1950s) category was Ken Stahnke. Cars from the fifties winners were: First — Ron Carter; Second — Harold Easler; and Third — Steve Hartford. Placing in the Cars of the ‘60s included: First — Jon Trask; Second — Larry Fletcher; and Third — George Knorr. Taking home trophies in the category for Cars of the ‘70s included: First — Kurt Forsman; Second — Kenneth Smith; and Third — Cindy Goodine. Entrants in the Cars of the ‘80s category included: First — Roland Dionne; Second — Nancy Faulkner Grant; and Third — Rich Boulier who entered his Dale Earnhart Monte Carlo pace car. Taking home trophies in the Special Interest category were: First — Gary Merritt; Second — Richard Fazio; and Third — Randy and Pamela Mulherin. Two tractors won awards: Bill Belmain with his 1941 Farmall H, and Burton Tilley with his 1952 Massey Harris. Both tractors were worked on and “spiffed up” by Randy Belmain.


Those celebrating birthdays this week include: Victoria Levesque, Jennifer Olson, Abigail Thompson, Zachary Bird, Conrad Helton, Kim Crouse, Mike Amero, Dixon Creasey Jr., Eric Woodbrey, Lola Jackson, John Robertson, Ricky Bragg, Matt Palmer, Thomas Drost, A. John Drost, Renee Conley, Travis Chandler, Amy Sawyer, Andrew Vaughn, Jason Powell and Stephen Nason.
Anniversary wishes go out to: Mark and Debbie Tarr, Scott and Susan Whipkey and Graydon K. and Lori Buckingham.

Town-wide information

Washburn Rotary will be holding a garage sale on Saturday, Sept. 11, and Saturday, Sept. 18. It will be held in the former Maynard’s garage, currently White’s Service, directly across Main Street from the gas station. Donations will be gratefully accepted, and they can be left at White’s Service or phone Charlotte Griffin at 455-8498 or e-mail cgriffin@mail2maine.com to arrange for pick-up of items. Proceeds of sales will be used by Washburn Rotary for local projects throughout the year.
The Friendly Co-op order week is set for Monday, Aug. 30, through Friday, Sept. 3. Please have your orders called in or e-mailed to Brenda no later than Saturday morning, Sept. 4, at 455-8421 or bunny@ainop.com. The scheduled pick-up date is Friday, Sept. 10, from noon until 8 p.m., with orders needing to be picked up during these hours.
The Lidstone Memorial Methodist Church will be holding a food sale on Saturday, Sept. 4, at the Washburn Civic Center. The menu will include: homemade beans, salads, cole slaw, cookies, cakes and pies.

Wade Selectmen meet

Those attending the August 17 Wade Selectman’s meeting included Donna Turner, Nelson Ketch, Freeman Corey and Donnie Hewitt.
Included in the agenda was a road update noting that shim was put on the roads and more efforts will continue next summer.
The Wade tax bills have been prepared and have been mailed out. A newsletter will be included to update residents on the new Town Office on Main Street in Washburn and the status of the roads.
Selectman Nelson Ketch informed the board that he will be selling his home and moving, thus his position of selectman will be vacant.

Firemen attend muster

During the recent Ashland Days’ events, members of the Washburn Fire Department took part in the Firemen’s Muster, competing with several area town fire departments. Those representing Washburn included: Kevin Goodine, Greg Sperrey, Brian Tozier, Tim Stitham, Tony Huston,Chris and Brian McCoy.
The team brought home a first-place trophy in the water relay competition.

    Christie Cochran is the correspondent for Washburn, Wade and Perham. She can be reached at 455-8034 or gramchristie@yahoo.com.