Putnam third in Elks state hoop shoot

13 years ago

    The Maine Elks Association (MEA) State Hoop Shoot competition was held on Jan. 30 at Brunswick High School. The event was hosted by the Brunswick Elks Lodge 2043. Eighteen boys and girls competed in the contest to determine the six state champions, who have earned the right to advance to the regional contest to be held in South Portland on March 25-27.
    Garrett Putnam of Houlton finished third in the boys 12-13 division behind first-place finisher Stephan Gikas of Portland and runnerup Noah Preble of Farmington.
    Other results included:
    Girls 8-9: first, Isabel Dawson, Portland; second, Breann Bradbury, Presque Isle and third, Madisyn Smith, Farmington.
    Boys 8-9: first, Henry Westphal, Portland; second, Marcus Christopher, Skowhegan-Madison and third, Alex Bouchard, Presque Isle.
    Girls 10-11: first, Ciara LeClair, Waterville; second, Anya Chase, Wells and third, Cassidy Pelletier, Presque Isle.
    Boys 10-11: first, Colby Esty, Skowhegan-Madison; second, Jack Casale, Portland and third, Kory Winch, Bangor.
    Girls 12-13: first, Caitlin Paradis, Presque Isle; second, Emily Gould, Rockland and third, Alyssa Wright, Waterville.
    Following the contest, the contestants traveled to the Brunswick Elks Lodge, where they were treated to a spaghetti luncheon, and were provided with Drug Awareness materials furnished by Drug Awareness Director Andy Bolz of the Maine Elks Association. Following lunch, the awards were presented to each contestant by Grand Lodge Committeeman James Ferland, who was assisted by MEA State President Roger Normandau of the Sanford Elks Lodge, President-Elect Wayne Cotterly of the Lewiston Elks Lodge, First Vice-President John Nicholson, and second Vice-President Dwayne Guy of the Rockland Elks Lodge. Also speaking at the event was Area 1 Hoop Shoot Committeeman Richard Blinn of Massachusetts, who spoke about the importance of the Hoop Shoot program. Blinn also expressed his sincere thanks to the Elks National Foundation and its contributors for funding the Elks National Hoop Shoot program.