Johnson and Fuhrmann-Lavallee receive 2012 DEKALB Agricultural Accomplishment Award

12 years ago

By Barbara Scott
Staff Writer

CARIBOU — For the first time in the 82-year history of the Caribou FFA, two senior FFA members were named co-recipients of the DeKalb Agricultural Achievement Award.


Contributed photo
Caribou FFA chapter members Desiree Fuhrmann-Lavallee and Colby Johnson were named co-recipients of the 2012 DEKALB Outstanding Ag Student Award. From left are: Ag Advisory Board members Cole Theriault and Kimber Noyes; Johnson and Fuhrmann-Lavallee, and Ag Advisory Board members Miles Williams and Steven Belyea. The two Caribou FFA chapter members were presented with the prestigious award at the March 15 annual FFA Banquet at the Caribou High School.

Colby Johnson and Desiree Fuhrmann-Lavallee, both students at the Caribou Technology Center were recently presented with the school’s highest agricultural honor, the DEKALB Agricultural Accomplishment Award, sponsored by Monsanto Company.

Johnson is the son of Marc and Marilee Johnson of Woodland, and Fuhrmann-Lavallee is the daughter of Donya Fuhrmann of Caribou.

Johnson received the award for excellence in academics, leadership and agricultural work experience. His significant experiences and accomplishments have included election as Maine State FFA Secretary and Treasurer 2011-12, Caribou Chapter officer 2010-12; and he represented Maine in the National Ag Sales, Ag Mechanics and Prepared Public Speaking competitions in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Fuhrmann-Lavallee’s significant experiences and accomplishments have included election as Maine State FFA President 2011-12, Caribou Chapter officer 2008-12, featured in Successful Farming magazine in December 2011; represented Maine in the National Creed Speaking and Ag Mechanics competitions in Indianapolis, and was one of the 50 State FFA presidents to meet in Washington D.C for the State Presidents’ Conference in 2011.

Thomas Hale is Johnson and Fuhrmann-Lavallee’s agricultural education instructor and FFA adviser at  the Caribou Tech Center.   

This year the DEKALB Agricultural Accomplishment Award celebrates its 65th anniversary with more then 168,000 high school seniors from across the country have received the award, which has become a symbol for excellence and the school’s highest agricultural honor.

As the winner of the 2012 Award, Johnson and Fuhrmann-Lavallee’s names will be recorded on a permanent plaque displayed at Caribou Tech Center.

Monsanto, a long-time supporter of agricultural education, FFA, 4-H and other farm youth organizations and initiatives, sponsors the DEKALB Agricultural Accomplishment Award. Monsanto is a leading global provider of technology-based solutions and agricultural products that improve farm productivity and food quality.