News from your Community


Collegiate Scholars welcome Cousins as new member

    Shelby Elizabeth Cousins of Caribou has accepted membership in The National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS).
    NSCS is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies and is the nation’s only interdisciplinary honors organization for first-year and second-year college students. Membership is by invitation only, based on grade point average and class standing.


Hollingsworth joins national honor society

    BATON ROUGE, LA. —Olivia Hollingsworth of Fort Fairfield was recently initiated into the honor society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines.
    Hollingsworth was initiated at the University of Southern Maine and is among approximately 32,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation.
    The organization was founded in 1897 at the University of Maine and is now headquartered in Baton Rouge, La.


CHS students awarded Yale program scholarship

    Two Caribou students are among those recently awarded scholarships to attend a three-week summer program at Yale University.
    Selected as the 2015 Richard Steele Scholars are Nicholas Sleeper and Gabrielle Marquis, both of Caribou High School, as well as Jonathan Blanchette from Fort Kent Community High School. All three recipients are freshmen this year.
    Moira Kelly, executive director and president of Exploration Summer Programs (EXPLO), recently announced the recipients, who will receive full scholarships to attend EXPLO at Yale University for three weeks in July and August. They will also receive individualized college counseling for the next three years.
    The Richard Steele Scholarship honors Richard “Dick” Steele for his support of EXPLO and contributions to college and university admissions. A graduate of Lewiston High School, he held leadership positions at Vassar, University of Vermont, Carleton College, and Duke University, before returning to Maine to become dean of admissions at Bowdoin College.
    Steele became a trustee of EXPLO during retirement and was instrumental in assisting with the development of the Northern Maine Scholarship Program, with a focus on northern Aroostook County. After his death in the spring of 2010, the program was renamed the Richard Steele Scholarship Program in his honor.
    For more than 35 years, EXPLO has inspired young people to challenge themselves and experience the joy of learning. Summer enrichment programs are offered for students in grades 2– 12 on the campuses of Yale, Wellesley College and Wheaton College.