Students named Merit scholarship finalists

     LIMESTONE, Maine — Officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) have announced that eight local students are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 61st annual National Merit Scholarship Program.  

     All students at the Maine School of Science and Mathematics, they are Eva Farkas, Austin Goodwin, Cecilia Howard, Keith Languet, Gordon McCulloh, Brian McGrath, Sean Sullivan and Spencer Ward.

     These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,400 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. Candidates must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level.