ACAP employees lauded for years of service

     PRESQUE ISLE — On Dec. 14, the Aroostook County Action Program, Inc. (ACAP) honored 14 employees for 5, 10, 15, 20, 30 and 35 years of employment.

SHARPTSJ BUACAP1 51 16627819

Contributed photo

Employees of the Aroostook County Action Program achieving milestone years of employment were recently honored at a luncheon in Presque Isle. from left are, seated, Debbie Kinney, Randy Rattray and Carol Maynard, each with 35 years of service. In back, Jason Parent, ACAP executive director; Charlene Gage, five years; Tammy Cyr and Marla Williamson, 15 years; Susan Deschene, 20 years; Vicky Bolstridge, Kathy Manning and Rena Thibodeau, 30 years; and Steve Richard, ACAP board chair. Absent from photo are Erica McCrum and Nicole Washburn, five years; Debbie Goodall, 10 years; and Dee Jacobs, 35 years.  

     “When added together, over 300 years of dedicated service has been provided by this group,” said Jason Parent, ACAP executive director. “What is even more impressive is what our ACAP family members across our agency do each and every day to help our County friends and neighbors in need.”

     Honorees from across Aroostook County were joined by their supervisors, ACAP leadership, and the board of directors at a lunch at Cafe Sorpreso in Presque Isle. They represented several ACAP program areas including heating assistance, energy and housing, health, and children’s services. Each received a milestone pin and a small gift.

     Staff members recognized for their years of service include: Charlene Gage of Caribou, Erica McCrum of Mars Hill and Nicole Washburn of Littleton, five years; Debbie Goodall of Dyer Brook, 10 years; Tammy Cyr of Fort Fairfield and Marla Williamson of Chapman, 15 years; Susan Deschene of Presque Isle, 20 years; Vicky Bolstridge of Fort Fairfield, Kathy Manning of Easton and Rena Thibodeau of Fort Kent, 30 years; and Dee Jacobs of Linneus, Debbie Kinney of Bridgewater, Carol Maynard of Mapleton and Randy Rattray of Presque Isle, 35 years.

     “In addition, we also recognized Connie Sandstrom, our recently retired executive director,” said Parent. “In fact, all three former ACAP executive directors, Norm Fournier, Brian Thibeau and Connie Sandstrom, joined us for the luncheon, making the day even more special for our employees, many of whom worked for all three of our former leaders.”

     For 43 years, the program has provided services and resources that help individuals and families in Aroostook County achieve greater economic independence. As a leader, or in partnership with others, ACAP provides guidance to the community in responding to emerging human needs in the areas of community, family, energy and housing, and workforce development services.


    For more information, contact the agency at or by calling 764-3721.

SHARPTSJ BUACAP2 51 16627821

Contributed photo

Gathered at a recent luncheon honoring employees of the Aroostook County Action Program are the organization’s former and current executive directors, from left, Norm Fournier, who served from 1974-1987; Brian Thibeau, 1988-1995; Connie Sandstrom-1995-2015; and Jason Parent, current.