Local soccer players make regional all-star teams

6 years ago

The Maine Soccer Coaches’ regional all-star teams have been announced, with several players from Aroostook making it on either the Class B, C or D North squad. 

Seniors named to the team are invited to play in the MSC Senior Bowl, held Sunday, Nov. 11, at Thomas College in Waterville.

Making the Class B girls’ team were Savannah Rodriguez and Madison Michaud, both of North regional champion Presque Isle; and Lexi Rodriguez and Edie Shea, both of Caribou. They are joined by June Robertson-McIntire of Belfast, Libby Hewes and Maria Low, all of Brewer; Emma Allmon and Olivia Nash, both of Hermon; Soleil Skehan of John Bapst, Shla Davis of Mt. View, Paige St. Pierre of Waterville, Maeghan Bernard, Carly Warn and Sara Doughty, all of Winslow; and Anika Elias, Mackenzie St. Pierre and Rebecca Beringer, all of Waterville.

The Class C North team is represented by two members of the state champion Fort Kent Warriors. They are Lexi Lovely and Gabby Martin. Representing Houlton are Jamie Brown, Sierra Hoops and Tessa Solomon. Others on the elite team are Grace Francis and Madi Speed, both of Central High School in Corinth; Hannah Dorman and Danielle Cummings, both of Dexter; Laine Perry of Narraguagus, Lauren Melanson and Brooklynne White, both of Orono; Cymeria Robshaw and Camryn Rolfe, both of Penquis; and Skylar Soule of Sumner.

Girls from the region selected to the Class D team include Brea Bradbury, Kate Levesque and Libby Grass, all of North regional champion Central Aroostook; along with Kassandra Nelson and Shelby Stolze, both of Ashland; Camryn Ala of Fort Fairfield, Autumn Ganzel of Hodgdon, Lindsey Drew of Katahdin, Jenna Dugal and Isabelle Jandreau, both of Madawaska; and Sydney Brewer, Kassidy Mathers and Kylie Vining, all of Southern Aroostook. Also making the team were Lexi Ireland and Lauren Reed, both of Penobscot Valley; Samantha Faolone of Schenck and Sydney Tozer of Bangor Christian.

Savannah Rodriguez made her return to the field Thursday for the home match against Old Town. The Presque Isle senior had suffered a torn anterior cruciate ligament on Sept. 1, but was cleared to practice last week. (Kevin Sjoberg)

Jonah Hudson and Zechariah Morse, both of the state champion Presque Isle Wildcats, joined Caribou’s Alex Ezzy, Cullin Caverhill, Austin Findlen and Parker Deprey on the Class B North boys squad. Others in the division making the squad were Trey Baker of Brewer, Casey Bourque of Gardiner, Isaac Varney of Hermon, Kaito Toya of John Bapst, Elijah Allen of Mount View, Liang-Kang Lin of Old Town; Khiari Hayward of Washington Academy; Ben Danner of Waterville and Isaac Lambrecht of Winslow.

The Class C North champion Fort Kent Warriors had five players make the boys regional team in Noah Martin, Dylan Hebert, Camden Jandreau, Austin Plourde and Reece Pelletier, while Houlton’s Nolan Porter was another local player selected. Others from the division on the squad are Yosef Worster and Liam Velgouse, both of Central; Chris Bennett of George Stevens Academy, Trent Lick of Orono, Jeremy Martin of Penquis, Kobe Gilbert of Piscataquis; and Orlando Herrera and Damon Warren, both of Sumner.

Class D players chosen included Ben Thomas and Hunter Wardwell, both of Central Aroostook; Tristan Cyr and Andrew Nadeau, both of Madawaska; and Matthew Burgess of Van Buren. Others recognized were Robbie DeRoche of Bangor Christian; Reece Carter, Zach Doors, Grant Kidon and Brad McKechnie, all of Penobscot Valley; Travis Thompson of Schenck and Drew Hayward of Woodland.

The 45th Maine Soccer Coaches All-Star Banquet will be held at 1 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 2, at the Spectacular Events Center in Bangor, with All-State teams being named along with Coach of the Year and All-New England honorees.