Michaud garners All-American soccer honor; Hudson and Ezzy make All-Region team

5 years ago

BANGOR, Maine — Sunday was a special day for three Aroostook County soccer players.

Presque Isle senior Madison Michaud was one of only three female players in the state selected as an All-American, adding that honor to her All-State and All-Region recognition.

Jonah Hudson, also a senior at Presque Isle, joined Caribou senior Alex Ezzy on the boys’ All-State and All-Region teams. The region is comprised of the New England states and they were two of only eight boys from Maine selected as part of the team.

The announcement was made during the 45th Maine Soccer Coaches All-Star Banquet, held at the Spectacular Events Center.

Michaud joined Kristina Kelly and Kassie Krul, both of Camden Hills, as All-Americans. Krul spent many years in Caribou as her parents, Robbie and Tammy Krul, ran the Dutch Soccer Academy in Aroostook County. Kaylyn Krul, Kassie’s younger sister, also earned an All-Region award.

On top of her other awards, Michaud was named Class B Player of the Year in the state.

Presque Isle coach Ralph Michaud marvels at all Madison Michaud accomplished during her playing career.

“It’s pretty awesome that all of Madison’s hard work paid off with an All-American selection,” he said. “I did some research and since the beginning of girls soccer in Maine there have been roughly 13,000 girls play the game and she is fifth on that list with 122 goals. That is a wow moment.”

Hudson and Ezzy were two of very few boys soccer players from Aroostook County ever to achieve All-Region status.

Joe Greaves, coach of the Class B state champion Presque Isle boys, said Hudson’s contributions went way beyond statistics. Hudson was a four-year starter while playing numerous positions along the way. The team accumulated a 44-15-6 overall record during his career.

Presque Isle senior Madison Michaud gained All-State, All-Region and All-American recognition during the Maine Soccer Coaches banquet held Sunday, Dec. 2 in Bangor. (Courtesy of Kristan Michaud)

“It’s well deserved. He did so much for our team this year both offensively and defensively,” Greaves said. “But one of his greatest strengths is leadership. He creates a team-first environment and is so unselfish as a leader. You can’t win a championship without a leader like that.”

Ezzy was a three-year starter who finished with an outstanding season, scoring 25 goals and leading Caribou to a 13-2-1 overall record, its best in school history.

Viking coach Scott Hunter said Ezzy is only the second boys’ player from Caribou ever to receive All-Region status, with assistant coach Kyle Corrigan being the other a decade ago.

“I was very proud and pleased watching Alex receive his award. To be recognized as all New England means that coaches throughout the state see Alex as one of the very best, which is quite an accomplishment for a player from The County,” Hunter said. “It also speaks to the wonderful four years he has had in the maroon and gold.”

All-state teams also were announced for both girls and boys. Michaud was joined by Tessa Solomon of Houlton and Jenna Dugal of Madawaska as Aroostook County players named to the Northern Maine all-state team.

Local players on the boys’ all-state team are Hudson, Ezzy and Camden Jandreau and Reece Pelletier, both of Fort Kent.

Other players making the Class B, C and D North region teams were recognized. Girls from Aroostook included Michaud, Dugal and Solomon, Savannah Rodriguez of Presque Isle, Lexi Rodriguez and Edie Shea, both of Caribou; Lexi Lovely and Gabby Martin, both of Fort Kent; Jamie Brown and Sierra Hoops, all of Houlton; Brea Bradbury, Kate Levesque and Libby Grass, all of Central Aroostook; Kassandra Nelson and Shelby Stolze, both of Ashland; Camryn Ala of Fort Fairfield, Autumn Ganzel of Hodgdon, Lindsey Drew of Katahdin, Isabelle Jandreau of Madawaska; and Sydney Brewer, Kassidy Mathers and Kylie Vining, all of Southern Aroostook.

Boys from the area who were cited include Hudson, Ezzy, Jandreau and Pelletier, along with Zechariah Morse of Presque Isle, Cullin Caverhill, Austin Findlen and Parker Deprey, all of Caribou;  Noah Martin, Dylan Hebert and Austin Plourde, all of Fort Kent; Nolan Porter of Houlton, Ben Thomas and Hunter Wardwell, both of Central Aroostook; Tristan Cyr and Andrew Nadeau, both of Madawaska; and Matthew Burgess of Van Buren.