Youth business group hosts Presque Isle stew night

4 years ago

PRESQUE ISLE, Maine — The Presque Isle Future Business Leaders of America held the first stew night of the season on Friday, Jan. 3, at the Presque Isle Snowmobile Club.

  Several parents donated a chicken stew, chili, chop suey or corn chowder for the evening. Everyone enjoyed hot biscuits with their meal along with whoopie pies and cookies for dessert.

  Students earned money to help pay for their trip to the FBLA convention, which will be held March 15-17 in Portland. At the convention, 26 students from the local club will compete against students from 11 schools from Maine by taking business-related tests and presenting projects that will be done prior to the event.


Parents who contributed to the meal for the FBLA stew night are, from left, Kimberly Hemphill, Nancy Watson, Aaron Sweetser, Jennifer Sweetser and LeRae Kinney.  Parents who also contributed but are absent from photo include: Heather Cassidy, Lisa Roderick, Angela Rider, Dani Cyr, Debbie Beaulieu, Butch Beaulieu, Andrea Gregg, Jennifer Hedrich, Martha Buck, Angel Casavant, Kellie Chapman, Shelley Berube, Janet Doak, Connie Nightengale and Taunja Jandreau.
(Courtesy of Kim Hemphill)

An activity offered through the Presque Isle Regional Career and Technical Center, FBLA is a national organization of high school students who are currently enrolled in or have interest in business courses.

  According to the SAD 1 handbook, the club’s goal is “to foster interest in and understanding of American business enterprise through the development of individual projects which contribute to the improvement of home, business, and community.” The club seeks to help students transition from the school atmosphere to the world of work.

  Members present for the evening were: Harleigh Brewer, Rossalyn Buck, Catherine Butterfield, Meg Cassavant, Ethan Cassidy, Kacie Chapman, Meghann Collins, Clay Gregg, Kassidi Hanson, Madison Hedrich, Matthew Hedrich, Gavin Hemphill, Libby Kinney, Alana Legassie, Libby Moreau, Austin Plourde, Rebecca Rider, Riley Roderick, Alec Staples, Alison Sweetser and Abbey Violette. Members absent were: Macie Bartley, Colby Bonville, Janelle Doak, Taylor Hedrich, and Lacey Jandreau.