Grohoski, McCrea appointed to New England and Eastern Canada Legislative Commission

3 years ago

AUGUSTA, Maine – Rep. Nicole Grohoski, D-Ellsworth and Rep. David McCrea, D-Fort Fairfield have been appointed to serve on the New England and Eastern Canada Legislative Commission, along with Sen. Mark Lawrence, D-Eliot and Sen. Marianne Moore, R-Washington.

The commission was established in 1986 to facilitate a relationship and strengthen regional cooperation between the Maine Legislature and legislative bodies in nearby states and Canadian provinces.

“I look forward to working with our neighbors as a member of the New England and Eastern Canadian Legislative Commission,” said Grohoski. “It is more important than ever in these challenging times to maintain an open dialogue and explore innovative solutions to sustain the economic, social and environmental well-being of Maine and our Northeast region.”

“It is an honor to be appointed to this important commission,” said McCrea. “As a representative from the most northern part of our state, up in Aroostook County, I know just how necessary it is to have open and collaborative communication with our friends to the north. We share a history and a culture that makes working together for the betterment of our regions both essential and natural. I look forward to getting to work.”

Grohoski, who is serving her second term in the Maine House, represents the communities of Ellsworth and Trenton. She serves on the Legislature’s Committee on Energy, Utilities and Technology. 

McCrea is serving his third term in the Legislature and is a member of the Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry Committee and the Education and Cultural Affairs Committee. He represents Caswell, Easton, Fort Fairfield, Hamlin, Limestone, part of Presque Isle, Stockholm and Cyr Plantation, plus the unorganized territory of Connor Township.