Tennis athletes compete in singles qualifying event

3 years ago

CARIBOU, Maine — High school tennis players from throughout Aroostook County participated in the Maine State Region 1 tennis singles qualifier seedings matches at Caribou High School May 8.

The matches were held to determine seedings for the upcoming state singles tournament. The top five seeds from the North region will participate in the Rounds of 52 and 32 on May 21, followed by the Round of 16 and quarterfinals on May 22 and the semifinals and finals on May 24. These events will be played at Lewiston High School.

The girls results from the first round were: Kylie Laplante (Van Buren) defeated Dina Kortesky (Houlton), 8-6; Libby Kinney (Presque Isle) beat Hannah Blanchette (Madawaska), 8-4; Julia Cyr (Fort Kent) beat Natalie DeLucca (Houlton), 8-3; Anna Albert (Fort Kent) beat Emberlie McIntyre (Van Buren), 9-7; Reagan Perfitt (Houlton) beat Alexis Cyr (Madawaska), 8-2; Ashlyn Bouchard (Caribou) beat Hannah Thibeault (Madawaska), 8-0; and Rene Lapointe (Van Buren) beat Julia Blake (Presque Isle), 9-7.

In the qualifying round, results were: Madison Michaud (Presque Isle) beat Kylie Laplante (Van Buren), 6-3, 6-1; Sage Dubay (Caribou) defeated Libby Kinney (Presque Isle), 6-2, 6-1; Livia Bouchard (Caribou) beat Julia Cyr (Fort Kent), 6-0, 6-0; Anna Albert (Fort Kent) beat Reagan Perfitt (Houlton), 6-1, 6-1; and Ashlyn Bouchard (Caribou) bested Rene Lapointe (Van Buren), 6-2, 6-0.

The final seeds for the girls are: 1, Madison Hedrich (Presque Isle); 2, Sage Dubay (Caribou); 3, Livia Bouchard (Caribou) 4, Anna Albert (Fort Kent); and 5, Ashlyn Bouchard (Caribou).

In the boys competition, results from the first round were: Brady LaPlante (Van Buren) beat Caleb Solomon (Houlton), 8-1; Cillin Bennett (Fort Kent) bested Caleb Bassett (Madawaska), 8-3; Ben Flannery (Presque Isle) beat Sam Lauser (Madawaska), 9-2; Sam Albert (Fort Kent) bested Kohl Skehan (Houlton), 8-0; Jordan Clevette (Wisdom) defeated Devon Ouellette (Caribou), 8-1; Xavier Deschaine (Van Buren) beat Ethan Carlisle (Presque Isle), 8-5; and Brevin Barnes (Caribou) bested Dylan Hebert (Fort Kent), 8-2.

In the qualifying round, results were: Sawyer Deprey (Caribou) beat Brady LaPlante (Van Buren), 6-0, 6-0; Landon Thompson (Presque Isle) bested Collin Bennett (Fort Kent), 6-1, 6-0; Emmanuel Deshaine (Van Buren) beat Ben Flannery (Presque Isle), 6-1, 6-4; Jordan Clavette (Wisdom) beat Sam Albert (Fort Kent), 4-6, 6-3, 6-0; Xavier Deschaine (Van Buren) defeated Brevin Barnes (Caribou), 7-5, 4-6, 6-3.

The boys final seedings are: 1, Sawyer Deprey (Caribou); 2, Landon Thompson (Presque Isle); 3, Emmanuel Deschaine (Van Buren); 4, Xavier Deschaine (Van Buren); and 5, Jordan Clavette (Wisdom).