County youth dominate at Hoop Shoot district contest 

1 month ago

BANGOR, Maine — Aroostook County had a banner day at the Elks Hoop Shoot Northern District Championships Sunday, Jan. 14.

Representatives of Presque Isle Elks Lodge 1954 and Houlton Elks Lodge 835 swept their divisions at the foul shooting competition held at the James F. Doughty School. Youth from the Bangor and Millinocket Elks lodges also participated.

In the girls’ 8-9 year-old division, first place went to Myra Mosher of Presque Isle, while Sawyer St. Peter of Caribou eased to the title in the boys’ 8-9 category. 

Eli McBreairty of Mapleton and Quinn Corrigan of Caribou. Winners of the 12-13 division.
(Courtesy of Kevin Sjoberg)

The 12-13 girls’ champion was Quinn Corrigan of Caribou, who needed a tie-breaker to outlast Rivers Bradford of Bangor. Victorious in the 12-13 boys’ division was Eli McBreairty of Mapleton. 

Selena Crouse of Blaine. Winner of the 10-11 girls division.
(Courtesy of Kevin Sjoberg)

For the 10-11 girls, Selena Crouse of Blaine grabbed the top spot.

Mosher, St. Peter, Corrigan, McBreairty and Crouse all represented the Presque Isle Elks Lodge, having won at that level in the Dec. 30 competition which took place at the University of Maine at Presque Isle.

Jackson Holdsworth of Caribou, left, along with District Hoop Shoot Director Shawn Stacey. Winner of the 10-11 boys division.
(Courtesy of Brandon Holdsworth)

On the boys’ side of the 10-11 category, Jackson Holdsworth of Caribou, who had qualified at the lodge event held in Houlton, picked up the win. Braxton Doughty of Presque Isle tied for second before being defeated in a tie-breaker.

The six district champions earned the right to advance to the next round, which is the state competition being held at the Lawrence Junior High School in Fairfield on Sunday, Jan. 28. Registration begins at 9:30 a.m. with the contest scheduled for 10 a.m. 

Those winning at the state level will move on to the New England regionals in Portland March 8-9. This is a qualifier for the Elks Hoop Shoot national championships in Chicago, Illinois April 18-20.