Ballots set for municipal elections in Madawaska, Van Buren

1 month ago

MADAWASKA, Maine – Elections in the St. John Valley towns of Madawaska and Van Buren are set for June 11, the same date as the state election. 

Madawaska’s election will be held from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Knights of Columbus Hall on 172 Fox Street.

In Madawaska, four candidates are vying for two seats on the town’s select board. The candidates are Habib H. Barber, Jenney M. Dionne, Douglas P. Morneault, and Michael J. Williams. Each is running for a three-year term.

The two openings on the board will replace Chairman Richard Dionne, whose term ends this year, and selectman Christopher Braley, who resigned in February.

There are two positions open for the school committee: Karen Albert and a write-in spot. Each position is for a three-year term.

No time and date has been set for Madwaska’s town meeting, according to the municipal office.

Van Buren’s election will be held at the Van Buren Community Center on 130 Champlain Street from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

In Van Buren, incumbents Paul Nadeau and Anne Marie Poitras are running for an additional three-year term on the town council. No other candidates are on the ballot.

For the town’s school committee, incumbents Leslie Beaulieu and Christina Dolan are running for an additional three-year term.

Van Buren’s annual town meeting is scheduled for 7 p.m. at the Van Buren High School auditorium. The warrant is not yet available. The High School is located on 169 Main Street.