Senior men and women compete in tourneys at Portage Hills

17 years ago

The Upper St. John Valley Senior Golf Association held a tournament at Portage Hills Golf Club Aug. 1, with Medard Soucy of Fort Kent scoring an overall gross score of 78 and Richard Hallowell III of Caribou shooting a low net score of 66.     Division I gross winners were: Soucy, 78; Armand Corriveau, Aroostook Valley, 80; and Barry Richardson, Edmundston, 81. Net, Hallowell III, 66; Andrew Choisnet, Edmundston, 69; and Charlie Violette, Presque Isle, 71.
Division II gross: David Scullion, Portage, 80; Conrad Walton, Caribou, 82; and Harold Soucy, Presque Isle, 85. Net, Rellon Powers, Houlton, 67; Bob Boucher, Fort Kent, 68; and Edmond Albert, Long Lake, 69.
Division III gross: Mike Fitzgerald, Caribou, 85; Richard Maynard, Presque Isle, 86; and John Manter, Aroostook Valley, 87. Net, Jeff Everett, Caribou, 88; Don Paradis, Portage, 70; and Josephel Pelletier, Presque Isle, 72.
Division IV gross: Jon Smallwood, VaJoWa, 83; Terry Duffy, VaJoWa, 88; and Eldridge Judkins, Presque Isle, 92. Net, Donald Hanning, Limestone, 65; David Whitmore, Caribou, 71; and John Murphy, Presque Isle, 72.
Division V gross: Camile Theriault, Fort Kent, 91; Dallas Adams, Mars Hill, 97; and Norman Johnson, Presque Isle, 98. Net, Arthur Benner, Caribou, 67; Leo Cormier, Portage, 71; and Roger Roy, Fort Kent, 73.
Division VI gross: Peter White, Mars Hill, 96; Keith Clark, Long Lake, 97; and Donald Kilgore, VaJoWa, 98. Net, Ed McGraw, Mars Hill, 60; Paul Johnson, Fort Kent, 68; and Cluny McPherson, Presque Isle, 68.
Senior Ladies results
The Upper St. John Ladies played their third tournament for the season at Portage Hills Country Club on Wednesday, Aug. 15, with 67 women participating.
Betty Deveau shot the low score for the event, while second gross in that first flight was Alexis Madore and third was Francine Soucy. The low net winners were Bern Michaud, Bev Osborn and Gail Libby.
In the second flight the low gross winners were Micheline Nadeau, Jean Townsend and Sue Nickerson, while winning net prizes were Janice Beaulieu, Lolita Collins and Margaret Violette.
Gross winners in the third flight were Chris Grover, Muriel Labbe and Susan Maynard, while low net winners were Louann Culberson, Dottie Fitzgerald and Barbara Paradis.
Lucy McLaughlin, Rita Roy and Jennie Duncan won gross places in flight four. The net winners were Carol Ann McElwee, Bea Brown and Hazel Bushey.
The next tournament will be held at VaJoWa Golf Club in Island Falls on Sept. 5. On Sept. 12, a meeting of the governors will be held to discuss plans for the summer of 2008.