Scholar-athletes garner recognition

10 years ago

    CARIBOU, Maine — The Aroostook League’s top scholar-athletes were recognized at a banquet held March 18 at Caribou High School.

    Each Aroostook League school had a male and female representative. They are as follows:

    Ashland: Nick Belanger and Rachel Gillis; Caribou: Kameron Manter and Delaney Williams; Central Aroostook: Spencer Garrison and Megan King; East Grand: Logan Crone and Theresa Cousins; Easton: Hunter Turner and Cassandra Buck; Fort Fairfield: Noah Bernard and Logan Bubar; Fort Kent: Cody Plourde and Rudy Martin; Greater Houlton Christian Academy: Aaron Holmes and Caitlin Miles; Hodgdon: Tyler Sherman and Courtney Jurson; and Houlton: Elyjah Crockett and Samantha Keegan.

    Also, Katahdin: Forrest Heath and Morgan Livezey; Limestone: Chris Bernier and Jordyn Hopkins; Madawaska: Jacob Gendreau and Leah Gonneville; Presque Isle: Josh Gordon and Jacqueline Lambert; Southern Aroostook: Trenton Cullinan and Mataya Hartin; Van Buren: Nicholas LaJoie and Parise Rossignol; Washburn: Chandler Dobson and Carsyn Koch; and Wisdom: Justin Pelletier and Alyssa Dumond.

    Eight of the students, through a random draw, received $400 scholarships to be used toward college expenses at the beginning of the January 2015 semester. Those recipients were Belanger, Garrison, Turner, Holmes, Martin, Livezey, Rossignol and Dumond.

    Following the meal, guest speakers were Caribou High School graduates Lindsay Burlock and Bradley Holabird.

    Burlock is a 2004 CHS graduate who received a bachelor’s degree from the University of Maine and master’s degree from the University of New England. She was also a scholarship athlete in track and field at UMaine and is now a certified physician’s assistant with Pines Health Services in Caribou.

    Holabird graduated from CHS in 1999 and UM-Presque Isle in 2003 and is a certified athletic trainer and head women’s basketball coach at the University of Maine at Fort Kent.