Four graduates join County police ranks

6 years ago

VASSALBORO, Maine — Maine’s 65 newest police officers graduated on Friday, May 18, from the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro.

Four of the new graduates will serve at Aroostook County posts.

Officer Mallory A. Clayton will join the Houlton Police Department.

Officer Samuel M. Dechaine is the Madawaska Police Department’s newest member.

The Presque Isle Police Department will welcome officers Allen-Michael L. Jones and Tyler D. Seeley.

The officers spent 18 weeks in study and training, and most will begin patrolling immediately, in time for Memorial Day weekend enforcement efforts.

The new officers were told to “always treat others as you would want to be treated.” That advice came from Bucksport Police Chief Sean Geagan, who also serves as president of the Maine Chiefs of Police Association.

Geagan told the graduates, “Never betray,  always have courage, and always uphold the constitution, your community and your agency.”

Among the many topics the new officers studied were crime scene processing, emergency vehicle operation, first aid, traffic and criminal law, domestic violence and sexual assault.

The graduates include five Game Wardens and three Marine Patrol Officers, who will continue training with their state agencies before patrolling on their own.