MSSM runners lead way at Fort Kent XC meet

6 years ago

FORT KENT, Maine — MSSM runners Jay Philbrick and Madison McCarthy ran to victories at the varsity cross country meet for Aroostook County’s Class C squads, held Tuesday, Sept. 25. 

Philbrick took first place in the boys’ meet, finishing with a time of 20 minutes and 59 seconds. He won by a 40-second margin, but it was a chase for the runner-up slot as Aidan Churchill of Washburn (21:39) beat out Sawyer LaChance of MSSM (21:41) by two seconds.

Isaac Potter of GHCA was sixth in 23:25 and teammates Silas Graham (24:46) and Jeremy Stone (25:24) were ninth and 10th, respectively.

Gavin Dunagan of Washburn also cracked the top 10, placing eighth in 24:39. Thirty eight runners competed.

The Beavers had four others in the top 20 and were the team champions with 48 points, ahead of Madawaska (59), MSSM (67), GHCA (79) and Fort Kent (112).

For the girls, McCarthy crossed the line in a time of 23:26 for the individual win. She was followed by Teagan Ewings of GHCA, who had a time of 24:59, and Dolcie Tanguay of MSSM, who finished in 25:48. The field was made up of 16 runners.

MSSM’s Jialan Deal was fifth in 28:07 and Charlotte McCulloh (sixth, 29:04), Rothery Sullivan (ninth, 29:04) and Brice Carson (10th) 33:24), also of the Penguins, were top-10 performers. Because of that depth, MSSM was the easy victor in the team results with 16 points.

Washburn, which posted 43 points, was the only other full team competing. The Beavers were led by Kassie Farley, who was eighth in 32:31.