Houlton High School class of 1969 celebrates 50 years

4 years ago

HOULTON, Maine — Fifty members of Houlton High School’s Class of 1969 held a three-day reunion event to celebrate their 50th class reunion.

Members and guests arriving on Friday, Aug. 23, participated in the Houlton’s Potato Feast lobster dinner in Monument Park or enjoyed local eateries, followed by a social hosted by Bonnie Burton Upton.

Saturday morning, members enjoyed a breakfast brunch at the Main Street Co-op and Farm Store shopped at the Downtown Farmer’s Market and toured Houlton High School early in the afternoon.

The main event began at 5:30 p.m. at the Shiretown Inn and Suites. Classmates and guests enjoyed a social hour, followed by dinner. Class member, Corrine Lynds Bongiovanni, raffled an original painting of train cars and raised $530 for the class scholarship. All guests attending received a reusable grocery bag embellished with the reunion date earmarking the 50 years since graduation. Albert Potvin, from New Jersey returned for his first reunion, while others traveled from Florida, North Carolina, Alabama and Ohio to attend.

The event culminated with several classmates meeting for breakfast before leaving the area. Plans were also discussed to attend the upcoming Houlton High School all class reunion planned for July 7-11, 2020.

Houlton High School classmates celebrated their 50th class reunion on Aug. 24 at the Shiretown Inn and Suites. Attending were from left in front: Jami Pierce Brown, Lois Gartley Brewer, Dianne Cunliffe Lincoln, Corrine Lynds Bongiavanni, Joe Hughes, Dennis Gallop, Fred Ward, Kate Putnam Ells, Maureen Gillis McLaughlin, Tanya Rowe Ziegler and Steve Roach; middle, Sharon Lilley Raymond, Candy Hogan, Maureen Fitzpatrick Todd, Patty Friel Swallow, Lynn Holmes, Peggy Rutledge Mayhugh, Jane Clark Stile, Karla Brewer Seaman, Jodi Dunn Peabody, Rhonda Warman Cassidy, Margaret McPartland Bean, Bonnie Burton Upton, Colleen Fitzpatrick Ondis, Anita Childers Hubert, Marylou Williams Fowler, Jane McGillicuddy Phipps, Bev Paradis Nason, Mary O’Donnell, Ann Madigan, Teresa Beaulieu Eagers, Kathy Brewer Strayer, Jill Longstaff, Susan Fitzpatrick Karnes and Karen Eleiott Donato; and back, John Hall, Albert Potvin, Carl Campbell, Wayne Lenentine, Dave McQuade,  Al Burleigh, Vaughn Young, Tim Callnan, Jim Kervin, Doug Ritchie, John Fowler, Jeff Scott, Doug Swallow, Jan Roberts and Pat Hickey.
(Courtesy of Karen Donato)