Presque Isle area From our Files – Week of March 15, 2023

1 year ago

100 Years Ago – March 15, 1923

Station agent on B. & A. became an inventor — N. A. Robertson, formerly a resident of Marysville, N.B., a station agent of the B. & A. Railroad at Oakland, became an inventor.

He had taken out a patent for a door holder for use in railway passenger coaches, and a company had been formed with a capital of $50,000 for its manufacture. The inventor claimed that this device would have served President Todd from losing a finger by the accidental release of the rubber door.

75 Years Ago – March 1, 1948

City Council bought an aerial ladder truck — The Presque Isle City Council committee on fire and police departments Monday night approved a contract for purchase of an American LaFrance “junior aerial” ladder truck which Fire Chief Herbert H. Treffery said it would be “one of the most valuable pieces of apparatus in the department” and the only truck of its type owned by any municipality north of Bangor. Treffery said the contract called for delivery of the truck within two years. 

Shoppers’ festival opened with over $2,000 in prizes — Shoppers from all parts of Aroostook poured into Presque Isle for the opening of the three-day Spring Shopping Festival sponsored by the newly organized Merchandise Bureau of the Presque Isle Chamber of Commerce, with stores throughout the city offering special values in spring merchandise and gifts totalling more than $2,000 being offered by some sixty merchants.

50 Years Ago – March 14, 1973

Anne Frank won the drama festival — An electrifying performance of “The Diary of Anne Frank,” Act One, scenes three and five, won first place in the Northern Area of the State Drama Festival for the Presque Isle High School Drama Club the evening of March 9. Susan Wanbaugh, who played Anne Frank, was chosen as best actress in the Northern Area by the three judges, Mrs. Diane Burns, Roland Burns and Allen Ouellette. Daniel Ladner, who directed the drama, said March 12 that Houlton High School took second place in the Northern Area contest. 

McDonald’s addition opened — McDonald’s in Presque Isle officially opened its dining area addition Saturday morning, March 10. The dining area featured a separate corner which could be closed off for special groups, such as a children’s birthday party. Called the “Ronald McDonald Room,” the 17 seat function space was the first to be put into one of Maine’s hamburger stands. 

Conservationist retired after 34 years — Eugene Tussing of Presque Isle, a well known soil conservationist with the Soil Conservation SErvice, retired after 34 years of government service. Tussing provided technical assistance to the Central Aroostook Soil and Water Conservation District for nearly 6 years, during which time he had assisted district cooperators to develop conservation plans on their property. Tussing served in the states of Kentucky, California, Indiana, Oregon, Georgia and Connecticut before moving to Maine.

25 Years Ago – March 18, 1998

Pageant net $3,000 for United Way — Rebekah Tibbitts was crowned Junior Miss Presque Isle and Heather Theriault Little Miss Presque Isle at the Little Miss and Junior Miss Presque Isle pageant held at the high school. The two girls won the talent competition in their respective contests. The event raised more than $3,000 for the United Way of Aroostook. High ticket sales awards went to Kayla Legassie and Cassandra Colton. The Little Miss Congeniality was Chelsea Hammond; Junior Miss Congeniality was Shannon Marquis. Second runner up for Junior Miss Presque Isle was Shannon Marquis; first runner up wa sCassandria Colton/ Second runner up for Little Miss Presque Isle was Megan dAvis; first runner up was Kayla Legassie.

Ferris, Jordan won council seat — Elections were held Monday with write-in candidate Nancy Ferris gaining a three-year seat on the town council. Ferris was the former town manager in Ashland. Ferris had 101 votes while Neil R. Jordan had 88 votes to secure the other three-year term on the council. Donald Kelle claimed the two-year term on the town council with 51 write-in votes.